BEMIDJI -- The Bemidji High School wrestling team was recognized March 19 at its annual awards banquet at BHS.

The Lumberjacks went 21-11 on the year and won the Section 8-3A Tournament. They also made their first state appearance since 2011, where they finished fourth and tied the program’s best finish.

Peter Moen (195 pounds) and Kaleb Beam (285) were both all-state selections, while Chance Hinrichs was recognized for the team’s most wins (42), team points (213) and takedowns (103). Seth Newby led Bemidji with 84 near fall points and 21 reversals, and Moen had a team-high 24 falls, as well.

Hinrichs was named the team’s most valuable wrestler for the season. The senior finished with 42 wins on the year, fifth all-time in program history. He placed fourth at the Class 3A individual state tournament in the 152-pound division to wrap up his BHS career.

Joe Hudson was named most improved after jumping from 19 wins in 2017-18 to 34 wins in 2018-19.

Other award winners included Caleb Bahr and Thade Osborn for the Steve Castagna Dedicated Wrestler Award, Moen (24 falls) for the JimBob Graves Most Falls Memorial Award, Alan Wuori for the Offseason Dedication Award and volunteers Linda Newby and Jerry Cleveland for the Suzette Andersen Parent Dedication Award.

In the lower levels of the program, the Bemidji JV team finished 21-5, also taking third place at the JV team state tournament Anoka duals. The BHS freshman team finished as state runner-ups to Shakopee.