WRESTLING: Bemidji athletes compete in Malecek duals, take 1st place

Members of the Bemidji High School wrestling team took part in the Malecek Wrestling Camp from June 27-30 in Onalaska, Wis., and Bemidji took top honors home with them.

BHS_Wrestling  web art.jpg
Bemidji Lumberjacks
We are part of The Trust Project.

ONALASKA, Wis. -- Members of the Bemidji High School wrestling team took part in the Malecek Wrestling Camp from June 27-30 in Onalaska, Wis., and Bemidji took top honors home with them.

Bemidji finished 6-0 at the tournament, winning its pool and then the Gold Division championship bracket.

In pool play, Bemidji defeated Aquinas 39-27, Glenbrook South 84-0 and Thief River Falls 63-3.

The 3-0 record moved them into the top bracket for the finals, and the success didn’t slow down there. Bemidji defeated Random Lake 51-13 in the quarterfinals and LeRoy Gold 66-6 in the semifinals. Finally, in the championship, Bemidji topped Coleman 58-16 to win the title.

Gabriel Morin (106 pounds), Nick Strand (113), Gavin Osborn (120), Hunter Heim (126), Alec Newby (132/138), Barrick Nelson (195) and Parker Orvik (220) all went undefeated and posted an unblemished 6-0 record for Bemidji.


Bemidji 39, Aquinas 27

106: Gabriel Morin (BEM) over Roger Flege, Dec 5-2

113: Nick Strand (BEM) over Jake Fitzpatrick, Dec 5-3

120: Gavin Osborn (BEM) over Thomas Bagniefski, Fall 0:40

126: Hunter Heim (BEM) over Marcus Klar, Dec 8-2

132: Waylon Hargrove (AQU) over Lincoln Schmitt, Fall 1:31

138: Alec Newby (BEM) over Trevor Paulson, Dec 4-2

145: Zach Malin (AQU) over Ricky Wuori Jr., Fall 3:21


152: Robert Flege (AQU) over Bo Hofstad, Fall 0:55

160: Calvin Hargrove (AQU) over Jack Solum, Fall 0:37

170: David Malin (AQU) over Seth Newby, SV-1 4-2

182: Coy Olsen (BEM) over Brett Ziolkowski, Fall 1:18

195: Barrick Nelson (BEM) over Aaron Lepak, Fall 2:16

220: Parker Orvik (BEM) over Brogan Timm, Dec 8-3

285: Thomas Paquette (BEM) over Max Maliszewski, Fall 1:00

Bemidji 84, Glenbrook South 0


106: Gabriel Morin (BEM) wins, Fall 0:21

113: Nick Strand (BEM), win by forfeit

120: Gavin Osborn (BEM), win by forfeit

126: Hunter Heim (BEM) over Ammar Khan, Fall 1:10

132: Alec Newby (BEM) over Matt Khamo, Fall 0:36

138: Lincoln Schmitt (BEM) over Aidan O’Connor, Fall 1:05

145: Ricky Wuori Jr. (BEM) over Jack Ehlinger, Fall 0:45

152: Bo Hofstad (BEM) over John Ptak, Fall 3:00

160: Jack Solum (BEM) over Christian Shamoon, Fall 2:28

170: Seth Newby (BEM) wins, Fall 1:35

182: Coy Olsen (BEM) over Avery Dublin, Fall 0:59

195: Barrick Nelson (BEM) over Oliver Wolf, Fall 1:38

220: Parker Orvik (BEM) over Alex Pyzikiewicz, Fall 0:28

285: Jared Donat (BEM), win by forfeit

Bemidji 63, Thief River Falls 3

106: Gabriel Morin (BEM) over Landen Larson, Fall 0:53

113: Nick Strand (BEM) over Nick Svir, Fall 1:48

120: Gavin Osborn (BEM) over Maverick Iverson, TF 20-3

126: Hunter Heim (BEM) over Noah Jacobson, Dec 5-4

132: Lincoln Schmitt (BEM) over Owen Dvorak, Fall 2:40

138: Alec Newby (BEM) over Anthony Peralta, MD 12-3

145: Ricky Wuori Jr. (BEM) over Elijah Hanson, Fall 1:35

152: Bo Hofstad (BEM) over Brennen Johnson, Dec 3-2

160: Kehan Nelson (TRF) over Jack Solum, Dec 4-0

170: Seth Newby (BEM) over Damon Ferguson, Dec 5-1

182: Coy Olsen (BEM) over Riley Poissant, Fall 0:48

195: Barrick Nelson (BEM), win by forfeit

220: Parker Orvik (BEM) over Carter Engebretson, Dec 6-0

285: Thomas Paquette (BEM) over Jackson Ingram, Fall 1:32

Bemidji 51, Random Lake 13

106: Gabriel Morin (BEM) over Drafted Wrestler, Fall 0:46

113: Nick Strand (BEM) over Chase Koepp, Fall 1:05

120: Gavin Osborn (BEM) over Grant Gibson, Dec 5-0

126: Hunter Heim (BEM) over Jackson Averill, Fall 0:56

132: Alec Newby (BEM) over Elijah McChain, Dec 5-1

138: David San Felippo (RL) over Lincoln Schmitt, Fall 1:01

145: Ricky Wuori Jr. (BEM) over Nicholas Daggett, Fall 1:23

152: Stone Pomeroy (RL) over Bo Hofstad, MD 11-1

160: Jack Solum (BEM) over Jayden Young, Dec 6-0

170: Seth Newby (BEM) over Toren Vandenbush, Dec 7-2

182: Tyler Schoneman (RL) over Coy Olsen, Dec 5-0

195: Barrick Nelson (BEM) over Michael Upson, Dec 3-0

220: Parker Orvik (BEM) over Holten Golke, Fall 1:15

285: Thomas Paquette (BEM) over Elijah Fassbender, Fall 1:36

Bemidji 66, LeRoy Gold 6

106: Gabriel Morin (BEM) over Brady Mouser, Fall 1:03

113: Nick Strand (BEM) over Jimmy Chaon, Fall 1:22

120: Gavin Osborn (BEM) over Kobe Brent, Fall 1:03

126: Hunter Heim (BEM) over Brock Owens, SV-1 11-9

132: Lincoln Schmitt (BEM) over Colton Prosser, Dec 8-3

138: Alec Newby (BEM) over Hunter Whalen, Fall 0:55

145: Connor Lyons (LRG) over Ricky Wuori Jr., Dec 7-1

152: Bo Zeleznik (LRG) over Bo Hofstad, Dec 4-0

160: Jack Solum (BEM) over Jack Green, Fall 1:51

170: Seth Newby (BEM) over Ethan Conaty, Fall 0:21

182: Coy Olsen (BEM) over Tyson Brent, Fall 3:44

195: Barrick Nelson (BEM) over Gannon Pinkerton, Fall 2:26

220: Parker Orvik (BEM) over Ash Osborn, Fall 1:27

285: Thomas Paquette (BEM) over Tate Sigler, Fall 2:34

Bemidji 58, Coleman 16

106: Gabriel Morin (BEM) over Parker Owens, Fall 0:36

113: Nick Strand (BEM) over Conner Markiewicz, Fall 1:13

120: Gavin Osborn (BEM) over John Nowak, MD 11-3

126: Hunter Heim (BEM) over Chase Gruber, Dec 6-0

132: Alec Newby (BEM) over Thomas Rhode, Fall 1:40

138: Brady Gross (COL) over Lincoln Schmitt, MD 15-2

145: Ricky Wuori Jr. (BEM) over Cameron Kimmell, Fall 2:32

152: Micah Kuchta (COL) over Bo Hofstad, Fall 2:50

160: William Bieber (COL) over Jack Solum, Fall 1:27

170: Seth Newby (BEM) over Isaiah Nowak, Fall 0:59

182: Coy Olsen (BEM) over West Bieber, Dec 5-0

195: Barrick Nelson (BEM) over Adam Fonder, Fall 1:09

220: Parker Orvik (BEM) over Dameon Burke, Fall 0:38

285: Thomas Paquette (BEM) over Kain Otto, Fall 0:49

Our newsroom sometimes reports stories under the byline "Pioneer Staff Report." This byline is used when reporters rewrite basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as an email or press release that requires little or no reporting.

Other times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

For questions about a staff report, call (218) 333-9796 or email
What to read next
Elle Bush, a 2022 graduate of Bemidji High School and a two-year varsity starter on the BHS girls soccer team, committed to the Northwestern women’s soccer program on Tuesday during a signing ceremony at the high school.
The Prep Bowl was held the weekend before Thanksgiving at the ends of the 2014 and 2015 seasons, when the title games were held outdoors on the University of Minnesota campus.