New drivers find winner's circle during 'Double Feature Night'

Sunday was a "Double Feature Night" at Bemidji Speedway for the Mod Fours. The night included a make-up race from July 10 when the rains fell, shortening the show and postponing the feature. Among Sunday's highlights were a couple of first-time w...

Sunday's wild Midwest Modified action at Bemidji Speedway included this pile-up when five drivers wanted to use the same line. The drivers included Ken Perry, Brett Schmidt, Steve Krumrei, Michael Jacobson and Ryan Schow. Pioneer Photo/Dennis Peterson

Sunday was a "Double Feature Night" at Bemidji Speedway for the Mod Fours.

The night included a make-up race from July 10 when the rains fell, shortening the show and postponing the feature. Among Sunday's highlights were a couple of first-time winners and several who previously had been to the Victory Circle.

Fran Hauber took the lead with Tom Kellen, Conrad Schwinn, Dean Larson and Mike Margl in pursuit. For several laps they held position until a spin brought out the caution flag with Larson sent tailback for the restart.

The restart was owned by Hauber as the Park Rapids native powered to the front. Working through traffic with Schwinn chasing him Hauber took the checkered flag, his first this summer. Schwinn, Brandon Kellen, Tyler Larson and Tom Kellen made up the top five.

Coming out of turn four Bill Beaulieu charged inside and took the lead and the checkered flag. But the flagman disqualified the winner for jumping the green flag after a caution and awarded the feature win to Wade Schmidt, his first of the summer. Chad Puschinsky, Beaulieu, Bill Chaboyea and Joel Harvey held the top five positions.


Billy Smith raced by both Becky Barrett and Andy Swartz at the start of the mini stock feature to secure the lead and then battled with Zack Peterson for most of the feature to claim the feature win. Peterson put up a valiant battle but finished second. Ev Barrett, Jason Snodgrass, and John Aderman rounded out the top five finishers.

A multi car crash on the front straight slowed the action for a restart and the restart was led by Brandon Kellen. A tight three-car race developed for second with Tyler Larson racing inside on the back straight into second. Conrad Schwinn and Tom Sabraski raced door-to-door before Schwinn drove into third. With those moves the field was set as Kellen took the checkered flag for his third win at Bemidji this summer. Larson, Schwinn, Sabraski and Dean Larson made up the top five.

A field of 16 Midwest Modifieds drove onto the track led by Skyler Smith and Chris Dudley. Smith grabbed control early and Adam Johnson raced into second.

After four cautions Smith won the race, Johnson finished second and John Halvorson was third.

Gary Nelson Jr. used the top side of the track in the 3-4 corner to work his way into second place and continued to race the high side and eventually take the lead, passing Brett Schmidt.

With the race winding down it was all Nelson on the high side, winning his second race in as many weeks in impressive fashion. Schmidt came in second, while Tyler Kintner was third and Matt Sparby fourth.

Bemidji Speedway

Sunday's Results


Hornet Feature - Jason Bush, JR Doti, Don Kolkin

Wissota Mod Four Feature (from July 10) - Fran Hauber, Conrad Schwinn, Brandon Kellen, Tyler Larson, Tom Kellen, Dean Larson, Mike Margl, Jon Greshwill, Tonja Stranger

Bemidji Pure Stock Feature - Wade Schmidt, Chad Puschinsky, Bill Beaulieu, Bill Chaboyea, Joel Harvey, Mike Johnson, Jesse Lutgen, Barry Isensee, Corey Peterson

Heat 1 - J. Harvey, C. Puschinsky, C. Peterson, B. Chaboyea, B. Isensee

Heat 2 - B. Beaulieu, W. Schmidt, J. Lutgen, M. Johnson, T. Williams

Bemidji Mini Stocks Feature - Billy Smith, Zack Peterson, Ev Barrett, Jason Snodgrass, John Aderman, Andy Swartz, Jordan Thayer, Becky Barrett

Heat 1 - B. Smith, A. Swartz, E. Barrett, Z. Peterson, B. Barrett

Wissota Mod Four Feature - Brandon Kellen, Tyler Larson, Conrad Schwinn, Tom Sabraski, Dean Larson, Mike Margl, Tom Kellen, Tonja Stranger, Mike Paulson, Leahna Barrett


Heat 1 - T. Larson, T. Sabraski, T. Kellen, F. Hauber, L. Barrett

Heat 2 - C. Schwinn, B. Kellen, M. Margl, D. Larson, T. Stranger

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature - Skyler Smith, Adam Johnson, John Halvorson, Brandon Bahr, Alan Bohlman, Ken Perry, Ryan Oppegarrd, Steve Krumrei, Jacob Wilde, Ron Reed

Heat 1 - J. Halvorson, S. Smith, A. Johnson, K. Perry, J. Wilde

Heat 2 - B. Schmidt, A. Bohlman, C. Dudley, S. Krumrei, M. Jacobson

Wissota Super Stock Feature - Gary Nelson Jr., Brett Schmidt, Tyler Kintner, Matt Sparby, Max Dondelinger, Dalton Carlson, Tal Lucken, Todd McClellan, Keith Keena, Gordie Lancaster

Heat 1 - M. Dondelinger, D. Carlson, T. Kintner, T. Lucken, T. McClellan,

Heat 2 - G. Nelson Jr, M. Sparby, B. Schmidt, K. Keena, G. Lancaster

What To Read Next
Hull was a five-time 50-goal scorer, led the NHL in goalscoring seven times, twice won the Hart Trophy and was voted a First-Team All-Star on the left wing 10 times.
Two major donations were announced on Saturday during a Hockey Day Minnesota television broadcast on Bally Sports North from funds raised during Bemidji’s Hockey Day event that took place in 2019.
It was another perfect Sunday with clear skies and comfortable temperatures on Garfield Lake. Thirty-three racers and crews filled the pits, and the oval track was surrounded by hundreds of fans.
The following is a letter to the editor submitted by a reader and does not reflect the views of the Pioneer. Letters can be sent to or P.O. Box 455, Bemidji, MN 56601.