Weather Forecast


MEN'S HOCKEY: Incoming Beaver named USA Hockey goalie of the year

BEMIDJI -- Incoming Bemidji State goaltender Zach Driscoll was named the 2017-18 winner of the USA Hockey Dave Peterson Goalie of the Year award on Tuesday for his play with the United States Hockey League’s Omaha Lancers this season.

Driscoll recently signed his National Letter of Intent to play for the Beavers in the upcoming 2018-19 season as a sophomore transfer. The Apple Valley native played one season at St. Cloud State in 2016-17, appearing in 14 games while posting a 6-6-1 record with one shutout for the Huskies.

The future Beaver was named a USHL second-team all-star in 2017-18 after appearing in 38 of 60 games while posting a 23-9-1-1 record as Omaha finished second in the Western Conference to earn a trip to the Clark Cup Playoffs. He ranked third among the league’s goaltenders during the regular season, recording a 1.90 goals against average to go with a .934 save percentage and a league-best eight shutouts.

Past recipients of the award include NHL players Jimmy Howard (2001-02), Cory Schneider (2003-04) and John Gibson (2010-11).