Weather Forecast


Former BSU football player to receive volunteer award

BEMIDJI -- Former Bemidji State athlete and longtime volunteer Randy Bowen will be honored as one of the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference’s 2017-18 Noel Olson Volunteer of the Year Award winners during the 19th annual NSIC Hall of Fame Banquet on July 10 at the Best Western Premier in Burnsville.

Bowen will join Gene and Jan Casey, who were nominated for their work with Wayne State, in receiving the award.

The award recognizes the singular commitment of former NSIC coach and athletic administrator, Noel Olson, to the advancement of NSIC visibility, credibility and excellence throughout the nation during his tenure in the league. The award is intended to honor individuals who, as volunteers, have made significant contributions to the NSIC as a whole.

A member of the Beaver football team from 1969-72, Bowen has served BSU as a volunteer and advocate since his graduation with a degree in education in 1973.

As a volunteer, the Hermantown native served eight years on the BSU Alumni Association Board of Directors, including six years as an officer and two as president. Bowen also helped lead the formation of the Alumni B-Club and was a founding member of the National Alumni Football Committee. In 2014, Bowen was honored with Bemidji State’s Alumni Service Award.

Bowen follows Keith Marek, who received the 2014-15 Noel Olson Volunteer of the Year Award, as the only two individuals connected to BSU to be bestowed with the honor.

As a part of the NSIC Hall of Fame Banquet, Bowen will also join former BSU head volleyball coach Donna Palivec, who is being inducted into the NSIC Hall of Fame the same evening.