SIOUX FALLS, S.D. -- Some members of the Bemidji cross country team ran at the Nike Heartland Regional Cross Country meet in Sioux Falls, S.D. on Nov. 12. The Nike meet at the Yankton Park trails served as the regional race for Minnesota, Wisconsin, South Dakota, North Dakota, Iowa, Kansas and Nebraska.

The top 10 ten teams in the four open divisions received plaques and were a part of the official award ceremony.

The athletes from Bemidji ran as a part of the Lumberjack XC Club as their official high school season ended at the Minnesota Class AA state meet. They placed first as a team in their open race, and fifth overall out of 140 teams in the combined results of the four open races.

Individual finishes for club members included: Soren Dybing 36th (16:19), Gage Mostad 65th (16:33), Sam Hodgson 87th (16:40), Riley Berg 92nd (16:41), Zac Fouquerel-Skoe 114th (16:47), Nathan Alto 140th (16:52), Ethan Maish 345th (17:44), Nicholas Palmer 643rd (18:31) and Steven Dinneen 683rd (18:41).

Overall, there were 1,144 runners that competed in the open races.

BEMIDJI -- The Bemidji High School boys and girls cross country teams presented postseason awards at their annual banquet earlier this month.

Sadie Hamrin added MVP honors for the girls team to her collection after being recognized as an All-State runner and being named All-State Academic at the Class AA state meet in November. Kayla DeWitt also received All-State Academic honors.

Other award winners from the girls team included Nessa Peters, who was named Most Improved, and Laura Thompson, who won the Lumberjack Award.

Letterwinners on the girls team were Hamrin, Thompson, Peters, Kayla DeWitt, Maggie Brown, Shelby Meyers, Gwen Youso and Regan DeWitt.

Soren Dybing was named MVP of the Lumberjacks boys team at the banquet. Sam Hodgson was named Most Improved and Tim Youso took home the Lumberjack Award.

Dybing and Riley Berg were each recognized for being named All-State Academic.

Letterwinners from the boys team were Dybing, Hodgson, Berg, Tim Youso, Steven Dinneen, Nicholas Palmer, Linaes Whiting, Zac Fouquerel-Skoe, Gage Mostad, Nathan Alto, Ethan Maish and Nicholas Youso.