HOCKEY: 16 Beavers named AHCA D-I All-American Scholars

Over a dozen Bemidji State hockey players have been recognized for their achievements in the classroom.

021622.S.BP.BSUWHKY Reece Hunt goal celebration.jpg
The Beavers celebrate Reece Hunt’s (29) second-period goal against Ohio State on Saturday, Feb. 12, 2022, at the Sanford Center.
Jillian Gandsey / Bemidji Pioneer
We are part of The Trust Project.

BEMIDJI – Over a dozen Bemidji State hockey players have been recognized for their achievements in the classroom.

The American Hockey Coaches Association announced its 2021-22 Krampade Division I All-American Scholars on Wednesday, and 16 Beavers were on the list. Making the cut from the women’s hockey team were 11 players, tied for the most in the WCHA.

They are Paige Anderson, Abby DeLaRosa, Lindsey Featherstone, Hannah Hogenson, Reece Hunt, Taylor Larson, Graysen Myers, Taylor Nelson, Kayla Santl, Abbie Thompson and Claudia Verkerke.

The men’s hockey team added Tony Follmer, Will Magnuson, Aaron Myers, Sam Solensky and Jere Vaisanen.

To qualify for selection, players must appear in at least 40% of their team’s games, with exceptions for injured players and backup goaltenders. They must also maintain a GPA above 3.75 in each semester of the season.


The WCHA had 56 players honored in all, trailing only Hockey East’s 57. Ohio State defenseman Sophie Jaques was named the Association's 2021-22 Outstanding Student-Athlete of the year and was also recognized as an All-American both on and off the ice by the AHCA.

The CCHA contributed 50 players to the list. Across both men’s and women’s hockey, 523 players were recognized in all Division I leagues.

Our newsroom sometimes reports stories under the byline "Pioneer Staff Report." This byline is used when reporters rewrite basic news briefs that originate from official sources, such as an email or press release that requires little or no reporting.

Other times, this byline is used when a news story includes numerous authors or when the story is formed by aggregating previously reported news from various sources. If outside sources are used, it is noted within the story.

For questions about a staff report, call (218) 333-9796 or email
What to read next
Ben Johnson watched the second half of Thursday’s open session alongside P.J. Fleck
Bemidji State athletics will celebrate the 50th anniversary of Title IX with the third annual Howe-Welle Women’s Athletics Golf Tournament on Friday, Aug. 26, at the Bemidji Town and Country Club.
Former Gophers coach was invited to speak before his New Mexico State team plays Minnesota
In the preseason of her senior year, Megan Majewski faced a harrowing reality when she tore her ACL. But Majewski, now a fifth-year defender on the Bemidji State women’s soccer team, is back to health and is ready to make one last run with the Beavers.