The awards keep coming for Nelson Cruz.

A day after being named the Marvin Miller Man of the Year by his peers, Cruz was given both the Most Valuable Twin Award and the Bob Allison Award for leadership as voted on by the Twin Cities Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of American and the Twins Community Fund Board of Directors.

Cruz will be honored at the Diamond Awards, which are typically held in January on the Thursday before TwinsFest. Due to COVID-19, the 16th annual Diamond Awards dinner will be virtual. The ceremony will take place on Dec. 9 beginning at 7 p.m. and will be aired on Fox Sports North.

It’s the second year Cruz has taken home both of these awards. At age 40, Cruz hit .303 with a .397 on-base percentage, .595 slugging percentage and 16 home runs in 53 games this season.

Byron Buxton is also the winner of two awards, taking home the Community Service Award for his work supporting military members and their families, as well as the Defensive Player of the Year award. Buxton, who was named a Gold Glove finalist a day earlier, is the four-time winner of that award.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

Starting pitcher Kenta Maeda was named Twins Pitcher of the Year after going 6-1 with a 2.70 earned-run average in 66 2/3 innings. Among his 2020 highlights, Maeda threw a near no-hitter against the Brewers, and set a Twins record by striking out eight batters in a row.

Randy Dobnak was named the Twins’ Most Outstanding Rookie, posting a 4.05 ERA in 10 starts. In each of his first six starts of the season, Dobnak gave up two runs or fewer. Matt Wisler, in his first year with the Twins, was named Most Improved Twin. Wisler, who posted a 5.61 ERA with the Padres and Mariners last season, gave up just three earned runs in 25 1/3 innings for the Twins in 2020, good for a 1.07 ERA.

Taylor Rogers was named the team’s Media Good Guy, often speaking on behalf of his teammates after becoming the Twins’ MLB Players Association representative earlier in the year, and Cleveland pitcher Brad Hand of Chaska was named the Upper Midwest Player of the Year after posting a 2.05 ERA for the Indians this season.

LaTroy Hawkins was given the Alumni Community Service Award, and Charles “Corky” Reynolds won the Play Ball! Minnesota award for his dedication to the game in Crookston.