Weather Forecast


Beavers land 29 spots on all-academic team

BURNSVILLE -- Twenty-nine student-athletes from Bemidji State earned a spot on the 2019 Spring Academic All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Team, the league announced Thursday.

The BSU softball and women’s outdoor track and field programs led the way with nine representatives apiece. Baseball, women’s tennis and women’s golf all had three members per team, and men’s golf added an additional two spots.

The academic award winners in softball were Makayla Pagel (Kronenwetter, Wis.); Lexi Derrick (New Richmond, Wis.); Sami Dullum (Harwood, N.D.); Rochelle Koshalek (Mosinee, Wis.); Jess Burlingame (Andover); Brooke Phillips (Iola, Wis.); Stephi Dullum (Harwood, N.D.); Kelsey McAllister (Lino Lakes); Olivia Tucker (Grantsburg, Wis.).

In track and field: Allyna Storms (Becker); Christa Benson (Mankato); Carissa Decko (Deer River); Elizabeth Christenson (Stewartville); Kristen Petron (Rice); Ashley Herdering (Melrose); Ellen Teiken (Detroit Lakes); Regan Grube (Eugene, Ore.); Cassidy Ziegler (Frazee).

In baseball: Austin Weisz (Little Falls); Drake Wawro (Cedar Rapids, Iowa); Owen Anderson (Grand Marais).

In women’s tennis: Hannah Peterson (Menomonie, Wis.); Zoë Lindgren (Bozeman, Mont.); Brooke Mimmack (Brainerd).

In women’s golf: Lauren Stockmoe (Alexandria); Hailey Hinners (Bemidji); Elise Stockmoe (Alexandria).

In men’s golf: Brandon Olson (West Fargo, N.D.); Ian Mackenzie-Olson (Wayzata).

To be eligible, athletes must maintain a grade point average of at least 3.20, be a member of a varsity traveling team, hold at least sophomore athletic and academic standing, and have one full year completed at their school.

Of Bemidji State’s selections, 17 were also named to the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence with a GPA of at least 3.60: Pagel, Derrick, Sami Dullum, Koshalek, Burlingame, Storms, Benson, Decko, Christenson, Petron, Herdering, Teiken, Weisz, Wawro, Lauren Stockmoe, Olson and Peterson.

In total, the NSIC named 749 athletes to the all-academic team this spring and named 391 to the Team of Excellence.