Weather Forecast


Beavers named to NSIC All-Academic teams

BURNSVILLE -- Bemidji State winter sports athletes were named to the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference’s All-Academic teams Friday. The women’s indoor track and field team landed eight selections, while women’s basketball earned five and men’s basketball picked up four.

To be eligible for the NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence, an athlete must have a 3.60 cumulative GPA or higher, while NSIC All-Academic Team members must have a 3.20 cumulative GPA or higher.

Women’s Indoor Track and Field NSIC All-Academic Selections

*Allyna Storms (So., Becker), *Courtney Anderson (Sr., Lewiston), *Christa Benson (Sr., Mankato), *Carissa Decko (So., Deer River), *Libby Christenson (So., Stewartville), *Ashley Herdering (So., Melrose), *Ellen Teiken (So., Detroit Lakes) and Regan Grube (Sr., Eugene, Ore.).

Women’s Basketball NSIC All-Academic Selections

*Brooklyn Bachmann (So., Minooka, Ill.), *Taylor Bray (So., Anoka), *Maria Appicelli (So., Winona), Sydney Zerr (So., Shakopee) and Gabby Dubois (So., West Fargo, N.D.).

Men’s Basketball NSIC All-Academic Selections

*Griffin Chase (So., Nevis), *Derek Thompson (So., Cold Spring), *Zach Baumgartner (So., Kewaunee, Wis.), Jacob McNallan (Jr., Andover).

*denotes NSIC All-Academic Team of Excellence members