WAYLAND, Mass. -- The North Dakota State University curling team, including Kelliher’s Glenn Grundmeier III, won the 2019 College Curling National Championship on Sunday night in Wayland, Mass.

Led by JP Munich (Oconomowoc, Wis.), NDSU defeated Blake Hagberg and his State University of New York Polytechnic Institute team 6-2 in the gold-medal game at Broomstones.

Newsletter signup for email alerts

SUNY Poly took an early 2-0 lead before the Bison scored one in the fourth end. NDSU stole five points over the next three ends to claim the 6-2 victory and the team’s first college national title.

Along with Grundmeier, Munich’s team also included Nathan Parry (Littleton, Colo.), Rachel Kawleski (Stevens Point, Wis.), Connor Dymerski (Bismarck, N.D.), Ty Milner (Duluth), Matt Martin (Fargo, N.D.) and Christine McMakin (St. Paul).

Using an eight-person rotation, the Bison went 3-0 in pool play and finished the competition with a perfect 6-0 record. NDSU defeated Rochester Institute of Technology 7-4 in the quarterfinals and cruised past Yale in the semifinal with an 11-1 win.

Massachusetts Institute of Technology earned bronze at the tournament.