Weather Forecast


SWIMMING AND DIVING: Lumberjacks hand out season awards

BEMIDJI—Following the girls swimming and diving season, the Bemidji High School team handed out awards in celebration of its seventh straight Section 8A title.

Headlining the awards was Abby Yartz, who took home the award for Most Valuable Player.

Yartz, Paige Andersen, Claudia Vincent and Alli Howard have been named captains of next year's squad.

Receiving the Rookie of the Year Award was Sophie Jones, while Nicki Son, Amber Korbel and Riley McCarthy were Most Improved.

The Hardest Worker Award went to Andersen, Coaches' Awards were given to Anna Fairbanks and Hannah Sether and the Spirit Award went to Alyssa Mess.

Lauren Lundquist was named Most Improved Diver.

Yartz, Andersen, Vincent, Son, Laura Davis and Miranda Port placed high enough at the section meet to advance to the Class A State Tournament at the Jean K. Freeman Aquatic Center at the University of Minnesota in November.