Northwest Minnesota Foundation announces new board members

The Northwest Minnesota Foundation announced on Tuesday the three newest members to its Board of Directors and the election of a new Board Chair.

Northwest Minnesota Foundation web art

BEMIDJI — The Northwest Minnesota Foundation announced on Tuesday the three newest members to its Board of Directors and the election of a new Board Chair.

According to a release, the three new board members are:

  • Jill Johnson, of Park Rapids, a retired physical therapist who, along with her husband, opened an independent bookstore, Beagle Books, in downtown Park Rapids. She is a writer, former Kinship mentor, previous Chair of the Park Rapids Library Board, a board member for Itascatur Outdoor Club, sings with the Classic Chorale, a member of the Park Rapids Tennis Association, and prior secretary/member of the Region 2 Arts Council. Jill serves on the Healthy Hubbard County 2030 Committee and is a member of Calvary Lutheran Church. Jill graduated from the Blandin Leadership Program in 2006.
  • Connie Lindstrom, of Hallock, a Business Analyst whose work is focused on value-added agriculture in rural areas. She specializes in strategic planning, financial reporting/modeling and advisory services for biofuels production facilities. She has prior experience with crisis centers and tries to see plans and programs from the perspective of a person whose resources are stretched or in crisis.
  • Bruce Reeves, of Red Lake Falls, an Assistant Professor at the University of North Dakota, where he has taught social work for 17 years. Previously, he was executive director of the Violence Intervention Project in Thief River Falls. He has been a practicing social worker for 38 years and is committed to social and environmental justice. He has served on the Board and as Chair for the Northwest Minnesota Arts Council and is currently on the Board of Northwest Apartments, a program of Alluma in Crookston (formerly Northwestern Minnesota Mental Health Center).

NMF board members are elected to serve four-year terms, with the ability to serve two terms.

Steven Anderson, of Warroad, was elected as the new Chair of the Board of Directors.

"Anderson is a private practice attorney, serving as the City Attorney for Warroad and Baudette. He is active in his community, having served as Chair for the Warroad Area Community Fund. He was first appointed to the NMF Board of Directors in 2014 and previously served as the vice-chair," the release said.


The changes to the Board of Directors were voted on at the annual meeting, at the conclusion of which three long-term board members stepped down: Kristin Eggerling, of Hallock, Chair; Cathy Forgit, of Fertile, Secretary; and Leah Pigatti, of Park Rapids, a previous Treasurer.

Each served not only two complete terms but also a one-year extension due to a bylaws amendment that allowed for such during times of emergencies, such as a pandemic, the release said.

What To Read Next
Get Local