Weather Forecast


Northwood Writers Conference begins June 18

BEMIDJI—Award-winning authors from around the nation will read their work at the Minnesota Northwoods Writers Conference at BSU later this month.

Creative nonfiction writer Paisley Rekdal opens the series, which also features poet Joan Naviyuk Kane, poet and Distinguished Visiting Writer Edward Hirsch, fiction writer Mat Johnson, creative non-fiction writer Alison Hawthorne Deming and poet Wayne Miller.

Each reading is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Here's a schedule:

• June 18: Paisley Rekdal, creative nonfiction

• June 19: Joan Naviyuk Kane, poetry

• June 20: Distinguished Visiting Writer Edward Hirsch

• June 21: Mat Johnson, fiction

• June 22: Alison Hawthorne Deming, creative nonfiction

• June 23: Wayne Miller, poetry

Each author also is participating in the conference as teaching faculty. Faculty are selected for their success as writers and authors and for their teaching ability. The conference's faculty has included National Education Association fellows, winners of significant honors such as the National Book Award and a future U.S. Poet Laureate, a release said.

All public readings will be in the Gathering Room of the American Indian Resource Center. Readings, which include a post-event reception and book signing, are free and open to the public.