Men's hockey: Serratore, Read highlight BSU's postseason awards

DETROIT -- The postseason honors are rolling in for the Bemidji State men's hockey team. Topping the list was head coach Tom Serratore and Matt Read. Serratore was named the College Hockey America coach of the year for the third time in the past ...

DETROIT -- The postseason honors are rolling in for the Bemidji State men's hockey team.

Topping the list was head coach Tom Serratore and Matt Read.

Serratore was named the College Hockey America coach of the year for the third time in the past five seasons and Matt Read was named the CHA rookie of the year.

Cody Bostock, Matt Climie and Travis Winter were named to the all-conference team.

League coaches voted Bostock to the first team while Climie and Winter were each selected to the second team.


The trio of BSU All-CHA selections marked the seventh consecutive season that Bemidji State has been represented by multiple student-athletes to the all-conference team.

A first-time All-CHA pick, Bostock anchored a BSU defensive corps that capped the 2007-08 regular-season ranked ninth in the country in goals allowed per game (2.29) and held conference foes to a CHA 20-game schedule record low 39 goals in conference play all while posting a plus-2 rating. He finished the regular season with six goals and 17 points in 33 games to lead all BSU blue liners and ranked sixth among his teammates in scoring.

His five goals and 14 points in CHA play tied him for third on the league defensemen scoring charts. The junior developed a knack for scoring big goals. Of his six goals, he matched Winter with a team-high three game-winners. He also ranked first among league scorers notching all three difference makers during CHA play.

Bostock was a CHA Defensive Player of the Week selection Nov. 19 after scoring two points, including his first collegiate game-winning goal, in the weekend series at Wayne State. He used the two-point series to kick-start one of two three-game scoring strands during the season adding a goal and an assist in his next appearance at Niagara. He also piled up four multi-point games recording his first collegiate multi-goal contest in a 4-0 victory at Alabama-Huntsville Jan. 11.

Bostock was joined by Wayne State's Jeff Caister and Ryan Annesley of Niagara on the first team blue line while Wayne State's Stavros Paskaris, Niagara's Vince Rocco and Ryan Cruthers of Niagara occupied forward positions and NU goaltender Juliano Pagliero rounded out the first team.

Cruthers and Rocco were unanimous selections to the first team.

The selection of Climie and Winter to the All-CHA Second Team marked the first time a BSU player has occupied a spot on the team since Brendan Cook was voted to the second team in 2005.

Climie finished the 2007-08 regular season with a 2.17 goals against average, a .915 save percentage and an overall record of 13-7-3 and a BSU single-season record of five shutouts. In addition to backstopping a defense that led the league (1.95) and ranked ninth in all of NCAA Division I in goals allowed per game, he was also a vital cog to a Bemidji State penalty-kill unit that set new BSU (.870) and CHA (.918) standards for efficiency.


In league play, the senior posted a CHA-best 1.78 goals against average and 7.50 winning percentage (12-3-3) while finishing second in save percentage with a .927 while ranking second with 1111:49 logged between the pipes.

The All-CHA selection is the third for Climie. He garnered first team honors a year ago and was named to the All-Rookie team in 2005. Prior to the 2005-06 season, he also became the first sophomore to be named CHA Preseason Player of the Year.

Winter posted nine goals and 21 points to finish fifth on the team in scoring while his three game-winners matched Bostock's team leading mark.

Winter makes his second consecutive appearance on the All-CHA squad. The junior's second team selection this season follows a 2007 first team award last winter.

Winter was joined as a second team forward by Niagara's Matt Caruana and Chris Margott of Robert Morris. Climie was accompanied as defensive second teamer by Niagara defenseman Tyler Gotto.

Bemidji State finished its 2007-08 regular season with a record of 16-15-3 and captured its third College Hockey America regular-season title with a mark of 13-4-3 in the league.

2007-08 First Team

All-College Hockey America Selections


Ryan Cruthers*, Robert Morris, Sr., F, Farmingdale, N.Y.

Vince Rocco*, Niagara, Jr., F, Woodbridge, Ontario

Stavros Paskaris, Wayne State, Sr., F, Dearborn, Mich.

Jeff Caister, Wayne State, So., D, Mississauga, Ontario

Cody Bostock, Bemidji State, Jr., D, Salmon Arm, British Columbia

Ryan Annesley, Niagara, So., D, Ajax, Ontario

Juliano Pagliero, Niagara, Jr., G, Dalroy, Alberta

2007-08 Second Team


All-College Hockey America Selections

Matt Caruana, Niagara, Sr., F, Orono, Ontario

Travis Winter Bemidji State Junior Forward St. Cloud, Minn.

Chris Margott Robert Morris Junior Forward Thousand Oaks, Calif.

Tyler Gotto Niagara Sophomore Defense Calgary, Alberta

Matt Climie Bemidji State Senior Goalie Leduc, Alberta

What To Read Next
Get Local