Weather Forecast


Seki, Jourdain face off in Red Lake election on Wednesday

RED LAKE—Red Lake Nation's current chairman will face off against the band's former leader Wednesday in the 2018 general election.

Darrell Seki, Sr., who defeated Floyd "Buck" Jourdain 1,907 to 1,284 in the 2014 election will once again take on the former chairman, who served from 2004 to 2014.

Darrell Seki, Sr.

Floyd “Buck” JourdainJourdain announced his re-election bid in early March, saying that he would stabilize tribal leadership and re-evaluate expensive projects.

"I've been watching and observing and have just seen a steady decline in productivity in our nation," Jourdain said in March. "The people in general have voiced to me that they're disappointed in the leadership at Red Lake."

Seki, who announced his campaign in late March, said in a written statement that he has kept the promises he made in his last campaign and pledged to protect the band's natural resources, land, boundaries and tribal members themselves.

"As Tribal Chairman, I have always emphasized that one does not succeed alone in Tribal Government, to make things work," Seki wrote. "I said when I first ran that I would not make promises I could not fulfill. The promises I made were kept, but I didn't do it alone."

Vince Brown, Jim White and Williamette Hardy-Morrison are also running for the chairman position.

Full slate of candidates

A total of 35 candidates are fighting for seven other open seats this year. Running for tribal secretary are Sam Strong, Tim Sumner, Michael Barrett, Donovan "Mikinaakoons" Sather and Darwin J. Sumner.

Running for tribal treasurer are incumbent Annette Johnson, Cheryl Marie Thomas, Chad Prentice and LaNae Pemberton.

Running for Red Lake representative are Jordan May, Donald L. Good, Sr., Michael A. Iceman, Julie Stately, Dean J. Branchaud, David F. Desjarlait, Karen L. Graves, Clem H. May, Sr., Paul Smokey Smith and Lee Lussier, Jr.

Running for Redby representative are incumbent Julius "Toady" Thunder, Sheldon "Skin" Brown, Lester (Moe) Loud, John Wayne Dudley, Thomas Westbrook, Marueen Thunder Lyons and Kevin L. Jones.

Running for Ponemah representative are incumbent Gary L. Nelson, Sr. and Chele D. Kalstabakken.

Running for a four-year term as Little Rock representative are incumbent Robert "Charlie" Reynolds, Adrian Beaulieu and Ron Lussier and running for a two-year term as Little Rock representative are Michelle (Barrett) Cobenais, William (Billy) Greene, Katherine "Kathy Spears" Dudley and Marlon Blue.

Polls open at 8 a.m. Wednesday and close at 8 p.m. Absentee ballots are also due by 8 p.m.

If a candidate receives more than 50 percent of the vote in the general election they are declared the winner. If no one gets more than half of the vote, the tribe will schedule a runoff election.