Bemidji organizations receive $50,000 in Otto Bremer grants

The Otto Bremer Trust on Tuesday announced $9.4 million in grants including $50,000 for the Bemidji area.

Otto Bremer Trust web art

BEMIDJI -- The Otto Bremer Trust has awarded $50,000 to Bemidji organizations.

According to a release, the trust provided the funding as part of its recent grant cycle, with $9.4 million going out to organizations across Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota and Wisconsin. Otto Bremer is a bank holding company and private charitable trust based in St. Paul.

One local entity receiving a grant was Mewinzha Onaadiziike Wiigaming in Bemidji. The organization, which received $15,000, provides primary health education, prenatal, pregnancy and parenting classes and support to under-served Native Americans.

United Way of Bemidji Area was another grant recipient, with Otto Bremer providing $35,000. The funding will be used to address low-income residents' transportation barriers to employment, education and other services in Bemidji and surrounding areas.

"The variety of grants awarded reflects the diverse needs of communities across the region," trustee and co-CEO Charlotte Johnson said in the release. "The recipients of these grants are committed to improving individual lives and helping communities move forward in positive and constructive ways."

What To Read Next
The Bemidji City Council heard six options Monday evening for the future of the city hall and fire station, sparked by the deterioration of both buildings and flood damage last spring.
The Northwest Minnesota Foundation will begin accepting applications to its scholarship funds starting Feb. 1. Scholarships housed at NMF in 2022 issued 240 awards, totaling $288,000.
The Beltrami County Jail has been ordered to reduce inmate capacity after a Minnesota DOC investigation showed that the jail's minimum staffing requirements were not met on several occasions.
Denae Alamano, executive director of United Way of Bemidji Area, has been named board president for the United Ways of Minnesota.