Weather Forecast


WRESTLING: Bemidji splits triangular; Alex Johnson records 100th win

Bemidji’s Drew Peterson controlled Ben Lein of Moorhead during Thursday’s 170-pound match. Peterson went on to a 3-1 win. Monte Draper | Bemidji Pioneer

BEMIDJI – The Bemidji wrestlers continued their early-season success Thursday by downing Moorhead.

In the final bout of the triangular, however, Badger-Greenbush-Middle River nipped the Jacks 35-33.

In the win over Moorhead the Lumberjacks opened a 23-4 lead by claiming six of the first seven matches. The Spuds drew within range, however, after Chase Morlock’s pin in the 195-pound match and Tommy Wychor’s 16-1 technical fall at 220.

Those wins trimmed Bemidji’s lead to 30-24 and set the table for a possible tie.

Lumberjacks heavyweight Alex Johnson, however, dashed Moorhead’s hopes as he pinned Brendan Edner 1:41 into their match to ice Bemidji’s 36-24 win. The win was Johnson’s 99th of his career and later Thursday he recorded his 100th with a 29-second pin of Cody Olafson of BGMR.

The Spuds won Thursday’s opening bout as Ethan Tallakson blanked Bemidji’s Tyler Maas 9-0. But BHS won the next six matches, including Tyler O’Beirne’s forfeit victory at 113.

Brian Maas won 12-4 at 120, Dylon Sauceda prevailed 7-2 at 126, Logan Crosby outlasted Jacob Rositas 4-2 in overtime at 132, Craig Maas was a 13-4 winner at 138 and Robert Treuer posted a 7-5 decision victory at 145.

Moorhead’s wins at 152 and 160 were countered by a pair of Jacks victories.

Drew Peterson earned a tough 3-1 decision at 170 and Kade Johnson blanked Sam Grove 8-0 at 182 to give BHS a 30-13 lead.

Moorhead sliced its deficit to 30-24, however, after Wychor’s win but Alex Johnson dashed the Spuds’ hopes with his pin at heavyweight.

Against BGMR Bemidji had victories from Brian Maas, Sauceda, Adrian Azure, Crosby, Craig Maas, Kade Johnson, Dreyer and Alex Johnson.

Bemidji is at the Perham Triangular today.

Bemidji 36, Moorhead 24

106: Tallakson (M) dec. T.Maas 9-0

113: O’Beirne (B) won by forfeit

120: B.Maas (B) dec. Dickhaus 12-4

126: Sauceda (B) dec. Laidlaw 7-2

132: Crosby (B) dec. Rositas 4-2 (OT)

138: C.Maas (B) dec. Olson 13-4

145: Treuer (B) dec. Mark 7-5

152: J.Grove (M) dec. Strain 8-3

160: Carpenter (M) pin Tschudi 1:39

170: Peterson (B) dec. Lein 3-1

182: K.Johnson (B) dec. S.Grove 8-0

195: Morlock (M) pin Dreyer 1:43

220: Wychor (M) dec. Br.Wilander 16-1

Hwt: A.Johnson (B) pin Edner 1:41

BGMR 35, Bemidji 33

106: Isane (BGMR) pin T.Maas 3:37

113: B.Maas (B) pin Becker 5:47

120: Kaml (BGMR) major ded. O’Beirne 14-0

126: Sauceda (B) dec. Udeberg 7-3

132: Azure (B) won by forfeit

138: Crosby (B) dec. Waage 6-1

145: Hasbrouck (BGMR) pin C.Maas 5:38

152: Gust (BGMR) dec. Treuer 4-2

160: Ingle (BGMR) pin Tschudi 4:41

170: Westman (BGMR) pin Peterson 1:23

182: K.Johnson (B) won by forfeit)

195: Dreyer (B) dec. Daugnault 6-4

220: D.Peterson (BGMR) dec. Wilander 14-2

Hwt: A.Johnson (B) pin Olafson 0:29

NOTE: Alex Johnson won his 100th match with the pin at heavyweight

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200