Weather Forecast


PREP SPORTS: Bemidji teams hand out MVP awards

BEMIDJI — Goalie Leighton Rockensock was honored as the Most Valuable Player of the Bemidji High School girls hockey team at the squad’s recent banquet.

The sophomore became the full-time goalie midway through the season and held the job the rest of the way.

The Lumberjack Award winner was senior Hanna Olson while Megan Dondelinger earned the Offensive Player of the Year award and Kelsey Isaacson and Savanna Hanson shared the Defensive Player of the Year honor.

The Most Improved Player award recipient was Sadie Defatte and Madison Schultz was named the Rookie of the Year.

Next year’s captains will be Dondelinger, Mackenzie Hietala and Sylvia Grimm.

Earning letters for the BHS girls hockey team during the 2013-14 season were:

Seniors: Savanna Hanson, Hanna Olson, Kelsey Isaacson, Jordyn Follis;

Juniors: Mackenzie Hietala, Megan Dondelinger, Sylvia Grimm;

Sophomores: Heather Olson, Sadie Defatte, Janessa Johnson, Leighton Rockensock;

Freshmen: Paige Delahunt, Rachael Holm, Madison Schultz;

Eighth grade: Jacie Lalli

Gregg leads gymnasts

The BHS gymnastics team also held its banquet and Haley Gregg received the Most Dedicated and Gymnast of the Year awards.

Alexis Solo was named the team’s Most Improved Gymnast while Sara Erickson and Brittney Beck shared the Spirit Award.

Other award recipients included:

Attendance: Gregg, Katie Bergquist;

Beam Stick: Beck, Emily Howard, Sara Erickson;

All State honorable mention: vault - Alyssa Allen, Gregg (minimum 8.8 average); bars - Allen, Gregg, Howard (minimum 8.4 average); beam - Erickson, Howard (minimum 8.5 average); floor - Bergquist, Gregg (minimum 8.8 average); all around - Allen, Gregg (minimum 34.3 average);

9.0 Club: Allen - vault, bars; Bergquist - floor; Erickson - beam; Gregg - vault, beam, floor; Howard - beam, bars

Earning letters for the 2013-14 BHS gymnastics team were:

Seniors: Sara Erickson, Haley Gregg;

Juniors: Alyssa Allen, Brittney Beck, Katie Bergquist, Emily Howard, Bailey Luna;

Sophomores: Serenati Melcher, Hannah Gregg;

Freshmen: Ellie Thompson, Courtney Mayer

Wrestling letterwinners

Senior Kade Johnson and junior Brian Maas headline this year’s list of lettermen for the BHS wrestling team.

Johnson finished the season 44-1 and recorded a school-record 41 pins. Maas posted a 43-1 record and both wrestlers finished the winter third in their weight classes at the state meet.

Earning letters for the Bemidji wrestling team this year, and their individual records, were:

Seniors: Kade Johnson (44-1), Robert Treuer (26-13), Sean Feia (5-3);

Juniors: Brian Maas (43-1), Dylon Sauceda (29-11), Gabe Flaherty (8-9), Lucas Gast (11-19), Tyler O’Beirne (12-14);

Sophomores: Alex O’Neal (7-12), Brody Wilander (27-15), Gannon Strain (27-14), Gunnar Nelson (3-4), Tyler Maas (10-11), Wyatt Yoemans (20-21), Xavier Whalen 3-5)

Freshmen: Indi Farris (16-17), Nick Peterson (20-22), Owen Lucas (3-5), Parker Beyer (7-8),

Eighth grade: Hunter Schoenborn (15-20), Jon Solum (12-12),

Seventh grade: Chance Hinrichs (15-15)