Weather Forecast


Schoneberger, Drewes named BHS track MVPs

The Bemidji track and field teams are still in competition preparing for the state meet but the coaches have announced their letterwinners and special team award winners.

Among the special award winners on the boys team were:

Sprinter of the Year: Peter Humeniuk

Distance Runner of the Year: Alex Schoneberger

Field Events Athlete of the Year: Ryan Rude

Most Improved: Andy Berube

Coaches Award: Eric Johannsen

Most Valuable Player: Schoneberger.

Performers of the Week: Richard Seado, Dan Clemenson, John Buckanaga, Schoneberger, Brady Schmidt, Humeniuk, Mitchell Rude and Isak Sommer.

Grant Mitchell was the scoring leader in the senior class while Schoneberger paced the juniors, Clemenson the sophomores and Sam Peterson the freshmen. Schoneberger was the team's overall scoring leader.

Mitchell and Matt Lee served as captains this spring and their successors will be Schoneberger, Kevin Nelson, Rude and Berube.

Earning letters for the boys track and field team this season were:

SENIORS: Alex Cole, Bryce Blankenfeld, Chad Williams, Corey Huber, Dan Kilday, Grant Mitchell. Jordan Dahl, Matt Lee and Peter Humeniuk;

JUNIORS: Alex Schoneberger, Andy Berube, Ben Peterson, Eric Calligan, Eric Johannsen, Jake Urban, John Buckanaga, Kevin Nelson, Kyle Huewe, Lukas Brokl, Ryan Rude and Trent Buckanaga;

SOPHOMORES: Ben Schram, Dan Clemenson, Jon Henry, Keegan Hilmer, Scott Hulsebus and Zac Declusin;

FRESHMEN: Adam Loisel, Gaeton Roy, Isak Sommer, Nick Gubbels, Richard Seado, Sam Peterson, Tyler Guest, Zach Palacio and Troy Saucedo.

Girls Team

Bailey Drewes was named the Most Valuable Player on the girls team.

"Bailey had the most points on the team, is one of our hardest workers and has put in the time to become better," said coach Chris Lehman. "I hope others have seen through her what it takes to improve."

Abby Hendricks, who was slowed this spring by an ankle injury sustained during the basketball season, earned the Coaches Award.

"Abby has done everything in her power to get back to where she was last year doing double workouts in the morning," Lehman said. "She has been a great leader and an example for the younger kids on how to work hard in practices."

McKenzie Timms was named the Most Improved Player while Selina Gilbertson earned the Field Event Athlete of the Year award.

Drewes,who will be the 2011 team captain, was named the Distance Runner of the Year and Olivia Hruby was named the Sprinter of the Year.

Earning letters for the girls track and field team were:

SENIORS: Selina Gilbertson, Abby Hendricks, Olivia Hruby, Kristina Lengerhuis, Tiffany Mason, Katie Verchota;

JUNIORS: Bailey Drewes, Laura Edwards, Maren Erpelding, Amanda Hunt, Kate Schulze;

SOPHOMORES: Caitlyn Blotske, Mikayla Connell, McKenzie Timms, Kim Truedson, Allie Verchota;

FRESHMEN: Blake Bardwell, Rachael Becker, Emma Brokl, Steph Frey, Danielle Gronhovd, Allie Heifort, Callie Johnson, Amber Peterson, Amber Solheim, Josie Spry, Nicolette Wilcox.