Weather Forecast


Bemidji football: Boes, Bruestle, Annette earn Player of Year awards

BEMIDJI — Tanner Boes was named the Offensive Player of the Year for the Bemidji High School football team and Sam Bruestle won the award on the defensive side of the line.

The awards were among the many announced during the annual Lumberjacks football post-season dinner held last week.

William Annette was named the team’s Special Teams Player of the Year while Matt Breeze earned the Coaches Award.

Other team award winners included Aaron Bofferding (Most Dedicated), Lucas Goins and Bruestle (Most Physical), Richard Cobble (Most Improved) and Nick Kavanagh (Impact Player of the Year).

The Lumberjacks also had five players named to the All-Central Lakes Conference North Division team. The group included seniors Aaron Bofferding, Ryan Hirt and Boes plus juniors James Hendricks and Goins.

Bemidji’s CLC North Division honorable mention picks were seniors Brustle, Wakinyan Moore and Anderson Carter, junior Gabe Flaherty plus sophomore Larimee Martell.

Boes, Bruestle, Goins and James Hendricks also were named to the All-Section 7-5A team. Bemidji’s honorable mention section picks included seniors Bofferding, Moore, Hirt, Anderson Carter, Andrew Steffes and Ben Christopher, juniors Luke Hendricks and Gabe Flaherty plus Martell.

Next year’s captains will be Goins, James Hendricks, Isaac Klinke and Grant Tharaldson.

Con Beaulieu also was honored at last week’s banquet as the long-time Bemidji High School fan was given the football Lumberjacks Award.

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200