Weather Forecast


Boys soccer: Nelson earns fourth Bemidji soccer letter

BEMIDJI — Senior Gunnar Nelson and his Bemidji boys soccer teammates officially ended their season last week with the annual team banquet.

Gunnar was honored as the lone Lumberjack to receive four boys soccer letters. He also was one of eight seniors to letter this fall and one of 18 Lumberjacks who received All Academic honors after compiling grade point averages of 3.5 or higher.

Nelson, senior Matthew Bitter and junior Alex Schussman were honored for being named to the Lakes to Prairie All-Conference first team. Leo Spry was an honorable mention pick.

Bitter and Nelson also were nominated for the coaches’ All-State team.

Earning letters for the BHS boys soccer team this fall were:

SENIORS: Gunnar Nelson, Matthew Bitter, Joel Johannsen, Charlie Sandquist, Matthew Erikkson, Didu Keddah, Niklas Luiga, Dimitry Zharovskiks

JUNIORS: Alex Schussman, Travis Slettvedt, Josh Claussen, Sam Holm, Noah Kovach, Sam Sharpe, Henry Steever, Leif Erickson

SOPHOMORES: Payton Christofferson, Bruno Cheney, Caleb Hess, Cole Mitchell

FRESHMEN; Leo Spry, Louis Iaquinto, Dylan Kovach.

Earning All-Academic honors this fall were:

Matthew Bitter, Didu Keddah, Gunnar Nelson, Matthew Erikkson, Josh Claussen, Joel Johannsen, Alex Schussman, Travis Slettvedt, Leif Erickson, Sam Sharpe, Theo Faust, Payton Christofferson, Taylor Nord, Cole Wright, Cole Mitchell, Caleb Hess, Austin Maxwell, Nickhil Gupta.