Weather Forecast


Hall of Fame: BSU will induct Bornetun, Ecklund, Scanlan, Zerr in February

BEMIDJI — BSU will induct six individuals and one outstanding team into its Athletics Hall of Fame on Feb. 21.

Former BSU athletes Ron Bornetun (men’s swimming and diving — 1976-80), Bruce Ecklund (football — 1980-83), Jim Scanlan (men’s hockey — 1978-82) and Kim (Babula) Zerr (women’s basketball — 1983-87) will be inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame.

The newest selection for the Alumni Coaching Achievement Award is Gail (Hecimovich) Nucech (1967-69), and the 2015 John S. Glas Honorary Letterwinner is Joe Dunn.

In addition, BSU’s 1979-80 men’s swimming and diving team will be enshrined into its Team Hall of Fame.

BSU’s 23rd Hall of Fame class will be officially inducted at the Hall of Fame brunch and induction ceremony on Feb. 21. The general public is welcome. Details on the ceremony will be announced as the date approaches.

Established in 1978, the BSU Athletic Hall of Fame currently includes 181 individuals, 22 coaches and 19 teams.

Another six former Beaver coaches have been selected for the Alumni Coaching Achievement Award and five BSU benefactors have been named John S. Glas Honorary Letterwinners.

Bornetun was four-year letterwinner for the men’s swimming team and made the All-NIC team each season. He earned NAIA and American College Coaches Association All-America honors in 1978, 1979 and 1980 and set school records in the 50 free (:21.3) and the 100 free (:47.7).

Ecklund was a four-year football letterman and a three-time All-NIC tight end. He remains in the top 10 among all receivers and first all-time among tight ends at BSU for career receiving yardage (1,542) and receptions (114) and was selected to the 1983 Associated Press Little All-America Team.

Scanlan was a four-year hockey letterman and the goalie compiled a 62-19-0 record and was the NCHA Player of the Year in 1982.

During his tenure the Beavers won the NCHA in 1982 and won the NAIA national titles in 1979 and 1980.

A four-time letterwinner for the women’s basketball team, Zerr was the starting point guard in all four seasons and completed her collegiate career with 1,137 points, 843 assists and 293 steals. She is the only player in BSU history with more than 1,000 points, 800 assists and 200 steals.

A team captain in 1985-86 and 1986-87, Zerr was a two-time All-NIC selection, earned NAIA All-District honors four times and was a 1987 Second Team All-American.

Nucech was a multi-sport athlete at BSU, participating in softball, field hockey, volleyball, women’s basketball and track and field from 1967-1969, pioneering many of those teams in a time of transition from extramural programs into varsity sports.

The bulk of Nucech’s coaching career was devoted to volleyball. Head coach at Hibbing High from 1969-2012, she compiled an overall record of 884-254 en route to becoming the MSHSL’s all-time winningest coach.

She led the Hibbing Bluejackets to 26 Iron Range Conference championships, 23 Region 7 AA/AAA titles and 23 appearances in the state tournament, which included a state championship in 1975 and a runner-up finish in 1998.

Nucech was inducted into the BSU Athletic Hall of Fame as an athlete in 1990.

The 1979-80 Bemidji State men’s swimming and diving team, under the direction of BSU Hall of Fame coach Lee Ahlbrecht, posted an 11-1 record and established four event records en route to a first-place finish at the Northern Intercollegiate Conference meet and fourth at the NAIA National meet.