Weather Forecast


Ten Bemidji State players make NSIC all-conference football teams

BURNSVILLE – Ten Bemidji State football players were honored as 2012 all-conference team members Tuesday by the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference as 2012 all-conference team members. Center Brett DeLange, a senior from Plainfield, Ill., and tight end Brian Leonhardt, a senior from Blaine, were named North Division All-NSIC First Team Offense, while linebacker Cory Crosby a senior from Cold Spring, earned North Division All-NSIC First Team Defense honors.

The first team laurel for Leonhardt is his third consecutive honor and fourth time on the all-conference list, while it stands as the first season Crosby and DeLange have been named to the first team.

Wide receiver Justin Lee, a senior from Elgin, Ill., was named All-NSIC Second Team Offense for the second consecutive season, while first-time all-conference honorees, senior cornerback Charles Hrdlicka and freshman linebacker Connor Quinn earned All-NSIC Second Team Defense honors.

Quinn was one of five freshmen to appear on North Division First or Second Teams and became the first BSU freshman to be named to the league’s top two teams since kicker/punter Paul Potemra garnered All-NSIC First Team honors in 2007.

Named to the All-NSIC Honorable Mention team were senior offensive lineman Alonzo Melton, senior running back Dustin Kroeplin, senior quarterback Lance Rongstad and senior defensive lineman Bryan Syrstad. Kroeplin appears on an all-conference team for the fourth time in his career after earning second team honors in 2010 and honorable mentions in 2009 and 2011. Rongstad was a 2011 All-NSIC Honorable Mention in 2011, while it stands as the first league award for Melton and Syrstad.

The league named 79 players from the North Division and 79 from the South Division to All-NSIC First, Second or Honorable Mention Teams.

Winona State running back Rayon Simmons was named NSIC Offensive Player of the Year and Wayne State defensive end Richard Daniel was honored as NSIC Defensive Player of the Year.

WSC running back Charlie Davidson was named NSIC Offensive Newcomer of the Year, while defensive back Shea DeJong of Minnesota State Moorhead was awarded NSIC Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Head coach of the undefeated and NSIC champion Minnesota State Mankato Mavericks, Aaron Keen, was named NSIC Coach of the Year.