Weather Forecast


BSU men qualify for NCAAs; women close out season with win

INDIANAPOLIS -- The Bemidji State men's golf team has been selected to compete in the 2012 NCAA Division II Men's Golf Championships, the NCAA announced Friday. BSU will participate in the Central/West Super Regional scheduled for May 7-9 at Wigwam Resort in Litchfield Park, Ariz.

BSU is one of 80 teams and 32 individuals across the country in postseason play this spring. Each of the four super regionals combine two regions, based on geographical location, to make up the 20-team, eight-individual super regional. The Central/West Regional will be hosted by Grand Canyon University.

BSU comes into the super regional ranked ninth in the Central Region and represent the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference along with St. Cloud State University, Minnesota State University and Concordia University-St. Paul.

Eric Hieb of Augustana College and Upper Iowa University's Jon Anderson also qualified for the event as individuals.

Since 2003 the BSU golf team has qualified for the a postseason appearance seventh times.

The 2012 Central/West Regional marks a return to postseason play for the Beavers after failing to gain an invite in 2011.

The top five teams and the top two individuals not participating with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 15-19, at The Cardinal Club in Simpsonville, Ky., as part of the 2012 Division II Spring Championships Festival.

California State-Monterey Bay defeated Lynn University in medal/match play to capture the 2011 Division II Men's Golf Championships team title. Kyle Souza, California State-Chico, won a playoff with Daniel Young of Lynn to claim the individual title.


At the Wigwam Resort in Litchfield Park, Ariz.; hosted by Grand Canyon University


Colorado School of Mines; Colorado-Colorado Springs; Colorado State-Pueblo; Western New Mexico; Nebraska-Kearney; St. Cloud State; Minnesota State Mankato; Colorado Mesa; Bemidji State; Concordia-St. Paul


Eric Hieb, Augustana (S.D.); Minkyu Jeon, Colorado Christian; Charlie Laudermilk, Fort Lewis; Jon Anderson, Upper Iowa


Cal State Chico; Cal State Stanislaus; Western Washington; Grand Canyon; Hawaii Hilo; Cal State Monterey Bay; Dixie State; UC San Diego; Cal State East Bay; St. Martin's


Troy Davis, Notre Dame de Namur; Garrett Howard, Cal State San Bernardino; Alex Marry, Sonoma State; Steven Warne, Sonoma State

Women win at Moorhead

MAPLETON, N.D. -- Led by a stellar individual performance by junior Kathryn Stoffels, the Bemidji State women's golf team wrapped up its 2012 spring slate carding a team score of 364 (+72) to claim the Minnesota State University Moorhead Triangular Friday at the par-73, 5,501-yard Maple River Golf Club.

The one-day, 18-hole event was delayed early due to heavy rainfall, but the Beavers persevered to earn a three-stroke victory over MSU Moorhead (367), while University of Minnesota, Crookston rounded out the trio with 397 (+105).

Stoffels fired a 12-over-par, 85 to sit atop the leader board and grab a four-shot edge over the field or medallist honors. In addition to Stoffels, BSU's Kaitlyn Sapone finished tied for fifth with a 92 (+19), Paige Tomkins turned in a 96 (+23) to finish tied for eighth and Rachel Wold rounded out the team score in 11th at +24 (97).

The triangular victory brings the BSU women's golf season to a close. The team will return to action in early September.

MSU Moorhead Triangular

Maple River Golf Club

Mapleton, N.D.

Dates: 4/27/12

Par: 73 Yards: 5,501

Team Standings

Bemidji State 364 +72; MSU Moorhead 367 +73; Minnesota, Crookston 397 +105

Bemidji State Results

Stoffels, 85 +12; Sapone 92 +19; Tompkins 96 +23; Wold 97 +24; Langer 100 +27; Shevik 103 +30.