Weather Forecast


Schultz, Wills, Roland earn team MVP awards

Andrew Schultz has been honored as the Most Valuable Player on offense for the Bemidji State University football team and Rob Wills earned the honor on the defensive side of the ball.

Other BSU football award winners were Aaron Roland who was named the Special Teams MVP for the third time, Derek Edholm who was honored as the Guy Vena Most Inspirational Player plus Offensive Scout of the Year Jared Flaata and Defensive Scout of the Year Dan Kiebler.

Schultz, a senior wide receiver, led the Beavers with 29 catches for 365 yards and four touchdowns. He also returned 10 punts for 138 yards and was fourth on the squad with four touchdowns and third on the team with 503 all-purpose yards.

Wills, a senior defensive end, was fourth on the squad with 58 tackles, 22 of them solo stops. His 16 tackles for loss represented a team-high as did his eight sacks.

Wills also had three pass breakups, two quarterback hurries and forced two fumbles.

Defensively Roland was a safety but the senior also returned eight kicks for 166 yards.

Edholm, a senior quarterback, rushed for 165 yards and three touchdowns and connected on 138 of 270 passes for 1,585 yards and 15 TDs.

Edholm paced the Beavers in total yards with 1,750 and was sixth in scoring with 18 points.

Flaata was a freshman runningback wihle Kiebler was a freshman defensive lineman.