Weather Forecast


BSU to honor athletics Hall of Fame inductees this weekend

BEMIDJI — The Bemidji State Athletic Hall of Fame will grow this weekend as B-Club officials induct six individuals and two teams to the special fraternity.

This year’s inductees include four former student-athletes, a graduate who earned accolades as a coach, a member of the BSU community plus the 1974 women’s track and field team and the 1983-84 BSU hockey team.

The official induction will be conducted at the Hall of Fame brunch, 10 a.m. Saturday at the Sanford Center.

The inductees will also be honored at today’s Beaver Pride luncheon. That event will be held at Walnut Hall beginning at 11:30 a.m. and the public is invited.

The BSU’s women’s hockey team also is honoring its alumni at a social beginning at 9:30 a.m. Sunday at the Sanford Center.

Established in 1978, the BSU Athletic Hall of Fame includes 179 individuals, 23 coaches and 18 teams.

This year’s inductees include Steve Boss, Jayne Dusich, Mary Gergen, Patti (Fitzgerald) Zwiers, Duane Sorenson and Sue Engel.

Boss (1981 graduate) was a four-time letterwinner for the men’s swimming team and was an NAIA All-America selection all four years. In 1981 he won the NAIA title in the 200 individual medley.

Dusich (1991) was a six-time letter winner, competing in track and cross country. Dusich was the District 13 cross country champion in 1989 and 1990, placed 30th at the NAIA national race in 1989 and 18th the next year. She also was BSU’s first cross country All-America athlete, accomplishing the feat in 1990.

Gergen (1991) was a walk-on setter for the BSU volleyball team and guided the Beavers from 1986 to 1989. Gergen was the team’s Most Valuable Player in 1987, 1988 and 1989. During her tenure the Beavers won the NAIA District 13 title in 1988 and 1989. Individually, Gergen’s 1,383 assists in 1989 and 1,366 in 1987 are still the top two single-season assist records at BSU.

Gergen was an All-America third-team selection in 1989 and an All-District 13 pick all four years.

Zwiers (1990) was a four-year letterwinner in track and was a seven-time All-America athlete in the shot put, earning those honors during the indoor and outdoor track campaigns. She qualified for the NAIA national championship six times, finished among the top four shot putters five times and won the national indoor shot put title in 1988. Zwiers also was an Academic All-America pick three times.

Duane Sorenson (1977) was a swimmer at BSU from 1973-77 and has been a swimming coach for the past 35 years. Currently in his 16th season coaching at Iowa State, Sorenson has coached 37 All-Big 12 athletes and has sent 23 Iowa State swimmers and divers to the NCAA championship meets.

Engel is the John S. Glas honorary letter winner and has been very active within the BSU community as a fan and a member of Beaver Pride. Engel has worked on the Beaver Pride auction and was on the women’s golf tournament committee for many years.

The 1974 women’s track and field team won all of its eight meets and set seven school records. Coached by Pat Rosenbrock, a 2008 BSU Coaches’ Hall of Fame selection, the team included Rose Spehar and Jeanne Larson who qualified for the NAIA national meet. Spehar competed in the 880 and Larson in the 440.

The 1983-84 hockey team compiled a perfect 31-0-0 record and capped the season by winning the NCAA II national championship. Joel Otto scored 32 goals and had 45 assists on way to winning the Division II Hobey Baker award. The All-America selections on that team included Otto, Scott Monsrud, Dennis Gibbons, Eric Gager, Mike Alexander and Todd Lescarbeau. Goalie Galen Nagle also was named the Most Valuable Player of the NCAA national championship tournament.

For more information on the Hall of Fame inductees and a complete schedule of this week’s events, contact the BSU alumni office at

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200