Weather Forecast


MEN'S BASKETBALL: Beaver men’s basketball Beavers picked 12th in preseason coaches poll

BEMIDJI — Despite making it all the way to the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference title game last season, NSIC coaches don’t seem to have much confidence in the Bemidji State University men’s basketball team to do it again.

The Beavers were picked to finish 12th overall in the conference this season in a coaches poll released Wednesday by the NSIC. Coaches also picked the Beavers to finish sixth in the NSIC North division.

Despite being picked so low in the division BSU did receive one first-place vote to win a division title; St. Cloud State received seven first-place tallies and was picked to finish first in the division.

Minnesota State Manktato was a nearly unanimous No. 1, garnering 15 of 16 first place votes in the poll. St. Cloud State, Winona State, Augustana and Southwest Minnesota State rounded out the predicted top five.

BSU, which had its first official practice Tuesday, finished 18-12 overall last season and 13-9 in conference play. The Beavers were seventh in the overall standings third in the NSIC North division.

The Beavers started slowly but caught fire in February, knocking off three nationally-ranked teams (Minnesota State, St. Cloud State and Winona State) all the way to the conference tournament final.

The Beavers played MSU again for the league’s automatic berth to the NCAA tournament but lost 73-68.

BSU did lose a significant portion of its scoring from last season, including all-conference guard/forward Lance Rongstad, guard Dremaine Crokrell and center Mason Walters.

Returning seniors this year include forward Maxie Rosnbloom, center Zach Noreen and guard Jake Schalow.

The Beavers start their season Friday, Oct. 25, with an exhibition game at Division I Northern Iowa.


1. Minnesota State Mankato (15)

T-2. St. Cloud State.

T-2. Winona State

4. Augustana (1)

5. Southwest Minnesota State

6. MSU Moorhead

7. Concordia-St. Paul

T-8. Minnesota-Duluth

T-8. Northern State

10. Sioux Falls

11. Minot State

12. Bemidji State

13. Wayne State

14. Upper Iowa

15. University of Mary

16. Minnesota Crookston

North Division

1. St. Cloud State (7)

2. MSU Moorhead

3. Minnesota Duluth

4. Minot State

5. Northern State

6. Bemidji State (1)

7. U-Mary

8. Minnesota Crookston

South Division

1. Minnesota State (7)

2. Winona State

3. Augustana (1)


5. Concordia-St. Paul

6. Sioux Falls

T-7. Upper Iowa

T-7. Wayne State

Jack Hittinger

Jack Hittinger is the sports editor of the Bemidji Pioneer. He is also the Bemidji State beat writer. He hails from the Great State of Michigan. Read his Bemidji State blog at and follow him on Twitter at @Jackhitts.

(218) 333-9772