Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

WRESTLING: Bemidji takes first place at Fosston-Bagley Invitational

FOSSTON - Championship performances by Tyler O’Beirne at 113, Brian Maas at 120, Logan Crosby at 132 and Kade Johnson at 170 carried the Bemidji High School wrestlers to first place at Saturday’s Fosston-Bagley Invitational.

The Lumberjacks, who did not have an entrant at 220 pounds and at heavyweight, scored 187.5 points and edged Blackduck-Cass Lake-Bena which tallied 178.5.

“The kids wrestled very well,” said BHS coach Rance Bahr. “We recorded many pins which gave us the extra points that we needed.

“We also had a few kids who came back to defeat opponents who had beaten them earlier. It was a good day.”

Johnson earned the award for the most pins in the shortest amount of time as he needed only 3:27 to post his three pins.

After receiving first-round byes O’Bierne and Brian Maas each recorded a pin and a decision victory. Crosby went 3-0 on the day, winning two matches with a pin and the championship match 2-1.

Placing second were Dylan Sauceda at 126, Robert Treuer at 145 and Brody Wilander at 195.

Contributing third-place finishes were Craig Maas at 138, Gannon Strain at 152 and Josh Dreyer at 182. In their third-place matches Strain and Dreyer each defeated opponents who beat them in the opening round.

Bemidji will return to action Friday and Saturday at the Paul Bunyan Invitational in Brainerd.

Fosston-Bagley Invitational

Bemidji 187.5, Blackduck-Cass Lake-Bena 178.5, Fosston-Bagley 164, Mahnomen-Waubun 128, Ottertail Central 121, Roseau 115, Fertile-Beltrami 94, Red Lake County Central 87.5

Bemidji’s Results

106: Holten (OC) dec. T.Maas 6-3; Dale (Ros) dec. T.Maas 5-1. (Maas did not place)

113: O’Beirne (Bem) received a bye; O’Beirne dec. Gunnerson (F.Belt) 14-6; O’Beirne pin Molden (F-Bag) 3:58. (O’Beirne wins championship)

120: B.Maas (Bem) received a bye; B.Maas pin Bode (F.Bag); B.Maas dec. Jerome (Ros) 7-2. (B.Maas wins championship)

126: Sauceda (Bem) pin Kolling (RLCC); Sauceda dec. Michalek (BCLB) 4-2; Olson (F.Belt) dec. Sauceda 7-6. (Sauceda finishes 2nd)

132: Crosby (Bem) pin Yates (BCLB) 2:53; Crosby major dec. Desrosier (F.Belt) 16-1; Crosby dec. Lefebvre (Mah) 2-1. (Crosby wins championship)

138: C.Maas (Bem) received a bye; Thorson (OC) dec. C.Maas 7-6; C.Maas def. Ludwig (Ros) injury default; C.Maas dec. Frenzel (BCLB) 13-4. (C.Maas finishes 3rd)

145: Treuer (Bem) dec. Manecke (F.Bag) 11-1; Treuer dec. Beauchane (F.Belt) 6-4; Lefebvre (Mah) dec. Treuer 2-1. (Treuer finishes 2nd)

152: Jedlicka (BCLB) dec. Strain (Bem) 14-6; Jedlicka dec. Ninton (OC) 11-6; Strain dec. Ellegaard (F.Belt) 2-0; Strain pin Jedlicka (BCLB) 3:24. (Strain finishes 3rd)

160: Lafriniere (F-Bag) pin Martell (Bem) 2:48; Laneue (Mah) dec. Martell 6-3. (Martell did not place)

170: K.Johnson (Bem) pin Wurms (Mah) 0:59; K.Johnson pin Staples (BCLB) 1:37; K.Johnson pin (Peterson (Ros) 0:51. K-Johnson wins championship and also wins award for most pins in shortest time)

182: Como (F.Bag) dec. Dreyer (Bem) 1-0; Dreyer dec. Engston (OC) 3-1; Dreyer pin Como 0:41. (Dreyer finished 3rd)

195: Wilander (Bem) dec. Brendefur (OC) 6-4; Wilander pin Holden (F.Belt) 2:49; Templin (BCLB) pin Wilander 0:47. (Wilander finished 2nd)

220: Bemidji did not enter

Hwt: Bemidji did not enter

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200