Weather Forecast


Wissota Modifieds join racing field

Craig Moore crashed his car into the wall during Sunday's Mod Four action at the Bemidji Speedway. Moore was not hurt in the incident. Dennis Peterson | Bemidji Pioneer1 / 2
Track officials check on Craig Moore following a crash during Sunday's action at the Bemidji Speedway. Moore, who was not hurt, rolled his car during the Mod Four race. Dennis Peterson | Bemidji Pioneer2 / 2

The Wissota Modifieds joined the field of Midwest Modifieds, Super Stocks, Mod Fours, Pure Stocks and Mini Stocks for a special night of racing Sunday at Bemidji Speedway.

Nationally-ranked Dan Ebert doubled up, winning both the Modified and Midwest Modified classes. Dalton Carlson was the Super Stock champion and Conrad Schwinn the Mod Four winner in the Wissota classes. The Pure Stock winner was Chad Puschinsky and the Mini Stocks went to first-time winner Josh Berg.

Next Sunday the track will once again host a kids special with kids getting free admission. Bikes will be given away and kids will be able to meet all the drivers on the track during intermission.

The regular season ends on Aug. 26 with the track championships. The annual Paul Bunyan Stampede is scheduled for Sept. 29 and 30.

Josh Berg held the pole position, took the lead and never looked back winning his first ever feature going flag-to-flag for the win. Leahna Barrett, Cory Mueller, Rick Watson, and Becky Barrett finished behind Berg.

After several failed attempts at a start Chad Puschinsky powered to the front and held off current point leader Bill Chaboyea or the win. Weston Ramsrud, Bill Beaulieu, and John Kruschke finished in the top five.

Dan Ebert steadily pulled away from the field with each lap but a late caution brought the field back to him.

Following the restart Ebert once again pulled away while the racing began to heat up between Rick Jacobson and Jeff Hart for second. Jacobson moved to the top and passed Hart for the backup position but Hart quickly returned the favor retaking the spot on the next lap following a side-by-side race.

But the race belonged to Ebert picking up his first win of the night. Hart, Jacobson, Rick Canata and Ken Hron made up the top five.

Brandon Bahr took the early lead with Gary Nelson Jr., Dan Ebert, Doyle Erickson and Skyler Smith trailing. Bahr and Nelson Jr battled for the front position and were joined by Ebert making it a three-car battle for the lead.

Ebert pulled away late as the field spread out around the track. Ebert claimed his second feature in a row with Nelson Jr., Erickson, Smith, and John Halverson trailing.

A small field of Amsoil Wissota Mod Fours got even smaller with an earlier heat race rollover. Craig Moore and another Mod Four tangled on the back straight sending Moore end-over-end and barrel rolling down to the pit gate and landing upside down. Moore escaped unhurt but his car was totaled.

Mike Margl and Tonja Stranger held front row spots for the start and Margl took the lead with Conrad Schwinn cruising into second followed by Stranger and Nathan Higginbotham.

Margl and Schwinn dueled for several laps before Schwinn's power put him in the lead for good. Schwinn solidified his point lead with the win. Margl, Stranger and Higginbotham trailed.

The feature was all Dalton Carlson as the four-time feature winner pulled into the lead after racing side-by-side with Gary Nelson Jr. and flip-flopping several times.

Once out in front Carlson looked strong but heavy smoke began to roll out the back of his super stock. He continued to race, held off Nelson Jr. and drove his car into Victory Lane.

Nelson Jr., Matt Sparby and Keith Keena trailed Carlson.