Weather Forecast


Tabery, Hetletved, Patterson, Mayer capture titles

Lee Hetletved of Grand Forks defeated Scott Hinners of Bemidji for the Executive Championship crown. Pat Miller | Bemidji Pioneer

BEMIDJI - Missy Tabery of Wadena watched Elizabeth Strom of Fargo drain a birdie putt from off the green on No. 18 to send Saturday's Women's Championship division final into overtime but the veteran golfer won the match on the first extra hole.

Tabery was the ninth seed after qualifying with an 86 while Strom was ranked fourth by virtue of her 79. Each golfer was severely tested in her opener as Tabery nipped Alyssa Konecne of Bemidji 1 up while Strom stopped Katelin Craft of Bemidji 3 and 1

Tabery posted a pair of 5 and 4 wins in her next two matches, thumping Laura Cahill of Grand Rapids in the quarterfinals and downing Sarah Storandt of Moorhead in the semifinal round.

Strom disposed of Heather Erholtz of Motley 6 and 4 in the quarterfinals and advanced to Saturday's battle with Friday's 3 and 2 triumph over Megan Swan of Tipp City, Ohio.

Saturday's championship match was close the entire way. Tabery owned a 1 up lead at the turn after claiming four holes but losing three.

She increased her advantage to 2 up with a par on No. 10 but Strom drew even by capturing No. 12 and No. 15, both with pars.

Tabery's birdie on No. 17 gave her a 1 up lead but Strom sank her birdie putt on No. 18 to extend the match.

Lee Hetletved of Grand Forks was unstoppable Saturday as he was 3-under-par when he closed Scott Hinners of Bemidji 2 and 1.

Hinners also played superb golf and was 1-under-par for the round.

Hetletved was 3-under-par at the turn, owned a 3 up lead and maintained that cushion through 12 holes. Hinners rallied, however, and trimmed his deficit to one down by capturing No. 13, No. 14 and No. 15.

But the deficit proved to be too much and when he three-putted on No. 17, the match was over.

On his way to the championship Hetletved was second in the qualifying round at 152 and posted wins over Verne Capelle of Little Falls (6 and 5), Russ Moen of Bemidji (4 and 3) and Todd Witkowski of Zeeland, Mich. (1 up in 19 holes).

Hinners qualified at 155 and defeated Brad McEnroe of Minneapolis 1 up, Derrick Johnson of Grand Forks 1 up and Joe Burgess of Bemidji 2 up.

Brian Patterson of Scandia defeated Doug Hiney of Grand Forks 4 and 3 Saturday to capture the Senior division crown.

The match featured the second and fourth-place finishers in the medalist chase as Patterson qualified with a 150 and Hiney at 154.

Patterson's toughest battle of the week came in the quarterfinals when he nipped Craig Bihrle of Bismarck 1 up. In the first round he eliminated Jeff Nelson of Bemidji 4 and 3 and in Friday's semifinals he thumped Curt Howard of Sapupla, Okla. 5 and 4.

Hiney's road to the title match began with a 3 and 1 win over Don Dale of Bemidji. He also stopped Jeff Hendrickson of Thief River Falls in 19 holes and toppled Matt Anderson of Zumbrota 5 and 4.

Joe Mayer of Bemidji claimed the Masters division title Saturday with a 1 up victory over Bryant Barnes of Bemidji.

Mayer opened a 4 up lead at the turn, claiming No. 1 and No. 6 with pars and No. 4 and No. 9 with birdies.

Mayer also won the Masters championship in 2008 and he was the Birchmont Senior champion in 1988.

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200