Weather Forecast


BSU football coach Tesch signs six year extension


BEMIDJI - Bemidji State Director of Athletics Rick Goeb announced Friday that head football coach Jeff Tesch has agreed to a six-year contract extension to keep him at the helm of the Beaver football program through the 2017 season.

"Coach Tesch is deserving of a long term contract," Goeb said in a press release. "He has proven himself over the last 16 years. He's developed an incredible football program that has a winning tradition.

"Jeff is a first class coach that not only produces wins on the football field, but also outstanding characters. The student-athletes graduate, do good things in the community and are stand-up citizens. Jeff is the perfect coach for Bemidji State University and an excellent role model."

Tesch, a 1998 and 2006 NSIC coach of the year, reached his 100th career victory last season. He started his tenure as Beavers head coach in 1996.

BSU finished 8-3 overall and it was the sixth time under Tesch the team has reached eight wins. BSU was ranked in the national poll on three different occasions.

"There is some good security with the contract being a six-year commitment," Tesch said. "There are a lot of exciting things that I want to finish here and be apart of. I'm excited to get one step further than we have and I want to be here when we get over that hurdle."

Tesch's teams have posted seven or more wins in 11 of the last 13 seasons and account for 13 of the school's 33 winning campaigns.

His 2006 squad matched a school record nine wins while posting a perfect 8-0 mark in league play to earn the team's first outright regular-season conference title in more than 40 years. To cap that momentous season, Tesch lead the Beavers to the first post-season appearance in school history as the team received a bid to participate in the Mineral Water Bowl.

During his tenure, Tesch has worked his way to the top of all the major coaching categories at BSU. With 173 games coached, he has patrolled the sidelines more than any of the 14 coaches to precede him in the position. His .613 winning percentage is the best in BSU history. And Oct. 30, 2004 he surpassed H.J. Erickson (1938-54) to become the winningest coach in BSU history.