Weather Forecast


NSIC officially expands to 16 teams

BURNSVILLE - Minot State and the University of Sioux Falls were officially admitted to the NSIC over the weekend during the NSIC Board of Directors meeting regarding expansion.

The addition of Minot State and Sioux Falls swelled the NSIC to 16 teams beginning with the 2012-13 academic season.

"The NSIC is pleased to welcome these two institutions into our league," said Winona State president Judith Ramaley. "We feel both of these programs are a good fit with strong academic traditions. The competitiveness of these athletic teams will enhance all 17 sports that we currently offer."

"I am excited to add both schools to the NSIC," said NSIC commissioner Butch Raymond. "The balance both schools show between academics and athletics fits the basic foundation of our conference."

The NSIC will now consist of 16 teams over a five-state area with nine institutions hailing from Minnesota, three in South Dakota, two in North Dakota and one in Iowa and Nebraska. The NSIC will form two divisions in football and basketball.

The NSIC North Division will consist of Bemidji State, Mary, Minnesota Crookston, Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota State Moorhead, Minot State, Northern State and St. Cloud State.

The NSIC South Division will consist of Augustana, Concordia-St. Paul, Minnesota State Mankato, Sioux Falls, Southwest Minnesota State, Upper Iowa, Wayne State and Winona State.

The Northern Intercollegiate Conference (NIC) began in 1932 and charter members included Bemidji State, Mankato State, Moorhead State, St. Cloud State and Winona State. In the spring of 1992 the NSIC was formed out of the merger of the NIC, the men's conference, and the women's Northern Sun Conference (NSC).

In the 1999-00 academic year the NSIC became an expanded 10-team league and expanded into a 14-team league in the 2008-09 year with the additions of Augustana, Minnesota Duluth, Minnesota State Mankato and St. Cloud State.