Weather Forecast


BHS track gives out year-end awards

BEMIDJI - The Bemidji girls track and field athletes set five school records this year and among them was the time of 3:59.21 for the 4x400 relay unit.

Reviewing the school records and saluting the athletes were among the highlights of the team banquet which was held last week.

Setting the 4x400 relay record were Amy Carey, Megan Serratore, Jenna Truedson and Maea Wall. The foursome established the record during the Section 8-2A meet and that effort was rewarded with a trip to the state meet.

The other BHS records set this year were by Jenna Truedson in the mile (5:00.45), Kim Truedson in the 3,200 (11:10.74), Allie Heifort in the discus (136-3) and Wall in the long jump (17-10.75).

Wall also was named Bemidji's girls track and field Most Valuable Player during the banquet.

The other team award winners included:

Top sprinter: Wall

Top distance runner: Jenna Truedson

Top field event performer: Heifort

Most Improved: Claire Laakso

Coaches Award: Dani Gronhovd

Most Points: Kim Truedson (senior), Amber Peterson (junior), Laakso (sophomore), Jenna Truedson (freshman).


The boys track and field team also held its team banquet and Elias Hendrickson was named the team MVP.

Brady Schmidt was the sprinter of the year, Scott Hulsebus the top distance runner and Zac Declusin the leader in the field events.

Sam Carlson was named the Most Improved.

The points leaders included Hulsebus (senior), Nick Gubbels (junior), Carlson (sophomore) and Will Annette (freshman).

Earning letters this year for the track and field teams were:

Seniors - Boys: Jon Henry, Scott Hulsebus, Eli Rassler, Jacob Schmidt, Zac Declusin, Andrew Street. Girls: Kayla Olson, Kim Truedson

Juniors - Boys: Billy Deer, Dylan Dickinson, Nick Gubbels, Elias Hendrickson, Jake Letson, Adam Loisel, Isaiah Moore, Josh Rogers, Gaeton Roy, Zach Sauer, Brady Schmidt, Seth Wall. Girls: Emma Brokl, Hannah Dressen, Nicole Erdmann, Dani Gronhovd, Allie Heifort, Callie Johnson, Leanne Oakes, Amber Peterson, Josie Spry

Sophomores - Boys: Sam Carlson, Cody Freyholtz, Wakinyan Moore, Gunnar Nelson, Seth Neubeck, Tanner Phillips, Andrew Steffes. Girls: Claire Laakso.

Freshmen - Boys: A.J. Anderson, Will Annette, Gabe Flaherty, Billy Freyholtz, Lucas Gast, Joe Krotzer, Chance McCray, Alex Schussman. Girls: Amy Carey, Maura Cadwick, Nicole Hendrickson, Megan Serratore, Amber Smith, Jenna Truedson, Maea Wall.

Eighth Grade - Girls: Emily Falldorf

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200