Weather Forecast


Rutledge named finalist for Mr. Baseball award

MINNEAPOLIS - Bemidji High School senior centerfielder has been named a finalist for the 2012 Play Ball! Mr. Baseball Award.

The Minnesota Minute Men, in cooperation with the Minnesota Twins Community Fund, are sponsoring the award, which is awarded to an outstanding senior baseball and softball player each year. Rutledge is one of seven high school baseball players in the state of Minnesota nominated for the award.

The players have been selected by a panel of Major League Baseball scouts and college baseball and softball coaches from around the state. A banquet will take place on Sunday, June 17, at Jax Café to honor their achievements and select an award winner for each sport.

Austin head coach Richard Seltz and Shakopee head coach Neil Johnson will also be honored with Lifetime Achievement awards at the banquet.

Sponsor and advertising proceeds will go toward the Minnesota Minute Men Foundation, which provides resources to underprivileged youth athletes in Minnesota.

Award finalists for Mr. Baseball

Mitch Brown, Rochester Century

Blake Molitor, West Lutheran

Dan Motl, Burnsville

Kasey Ralston, Holy Family Catholic

Cody Rutledge, Bemidji

Tim Shannon, Hopkins

Brent Stong, Andover

Award finalists for Ms. Softball

Nikki Anderson, Brainerd

Alex Benedict, Woodbury

Sydney Fabian, Hill Murray

Taylor LeMay, East Ridge

Morgan Nybo, Hopkins

Carley Pickett, North St. Paul

Cayli Sadler, Maple Grove