Weather Forecast


New drivers entertain

A three-way chase developed in the Midwest Modified feature during Sunday's action at the Bemidji Speedway. Battling for position were Skyler Smith (No. 16), Davey Mills (No. 22) and Chris Dudley. Dennis Peterson | Bemidji Pioneer

Sunday's action at Bemidji Speedway featured an excellent field of cars, including many new drivers and crews.

The first special event of the summer comes next weekend with a Memorial Day race added to the card. The regular Sunday race will begin at 5 p.m. and on Monday the Northern Plains Mini Springs will join the regular classes with the action starting at 4 p.m.

Bill Chaboyea took the lead early and survived a late caution and restart to claim his first feature of the new race season. Chad Puschinsky, Jerry Ramey, Troy Hemphill and Corey Peterson made up the top five. For Chaboyea, it was a clean sweep with the first heat win as well.

A three car battle developed quickly for the lead with Becky Barrett, Josh Berg and Rick Watson all in contention. Barrett came out the leader and the flag-to-flag winner, her first ever after three years of racing. Weston Ramsrud, Berg, Leahna Barrett, and Watson finished in the top five.

Conrad Schwinn took the lead on the second lap and quickly created a huge gap between himself and the field. The rest of the top five were in a fierce battle racing nose to tail and side by side. Schwinn finished with a near one-hap lap lead over the field.

The largest class of the night was the Midwest Modified division with a fine field of 17 cars rolling onto the track.

Davey Mills grabbed the lead early lead and, despite two cautions, Mills was able to maintain it the rest of the way.

Gary Nelson Jr. held the lead through two restarts and cruised to his second straight feature win, winning by five car lengths over Dalton Carlson. Tyloer Kintner, Keith Keena and Kyle Oman made up the top five.

Speedway Results

Pure Stock Feature - Bill Chaboyea, Chad Puschinsky, Jerry Ramey, Troy Hemphill, Corey Peterson, Bill Beaulieu, Brandon Smith, Jay Lutgen, Jordan Thayer

Heat 1 - Chaboyea, Ramey, Hemphill, Thayer

Heat 2 - Peterson, Puschinsky, Beaulieu, Lutgen

Mini Stock Feature - Becky Barrett, Weston Ramsrud, Josh Berg, Leahna Barrett, Rick Watson, Cory Mueller

Heat 1 - Watson, Ramsrud, B. Barrett, L. Barrett, Berg

Wissota Mod Four Feature - Conrad Schwinn, Dean Larson, Tonja Stranger, Nathan Higginbotham, Fran Hauber, Mike Margl, Billy Smith, Craig Moore, Ev Barrett.

Heat 1 - C. Schwinn, Hauber, Larson, Higginbotham, Stranger

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature - Davey Mills, Danny Vang, Gary Nelson Jr., Skyler Smith, Dennis Czech, Doyle Erickson, Bret Schmidt, Christopher Leek, Brandon Bahr, Matt Schow

Heat 1 - Vang, Mills, S. Smith, Dudley, Reed

Heat 2 - D.Smith, Erickson, Nelson Jr, Lawler, Krumnei

Heat 3 - Czech, Schow, Leek, Bahr, Halvorson

Wissota Super Stock Feature - Gary Nelson Jr., Dalton Carlson, Tyler Kintner, Keith Keena, Kyle Oman, Bret Schmidt, Blake Higginbotham, Max Dondelinger, Matt Sparby

Heat 1 - Dondelinger, Nelson Jr., Higginbotham, Keena, Kintner