Weather Forecast


BSU relay team wins at Simpson

INDIANOLA, Iowa -- The Bemidji State women's track and field team competed in the Kip Janvrin Open at Simpson College Friday, taking the 4x100-meter relay crown.

The team of Tia Lindberg, Michelle Ohman, Ashley Larva and Taylor Sautbine ran the race with a season-best time of 49.98 seconds.

Ohman also placed sixth in the 400-meter run, clocking in at 1 minute 1.30 seconds (1:01.30).

Senior co-captain Kirsten Maras crossed the finish line in 2:23.04 to finish eighth overall in the 800.

In the 100-meter hurdles, Larva raced home in 15.36 seconds to finish in eighth-place.

Sara Churness cleared a person-best height of 4 feet 6.75 inches to place ninth in the high jump.

Gina Padrnos finished eighth in the javelin, while teammate Kayla Alexander placed one spot ahead in seventh.

The Beavers will send multi-event athlete Sautbine to compete in the NSIC Multi Championships April 29-30 in Aberdeen, S.D. The entire BSU team will be back in action May 5 at the Ron Masanz Open in Moorhead.