Weather Forecast


BSU's Ellisor earns National Player of Year award

EDINBORO, Pa. - Bemidji State University men's basketball senior forward James Ellisor was named Daktronics Division II men's basketball National Player of the Year and First Team All-America Tuesday.

The team was selected by members of College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

The honor is the first of its kind in the 90 years of men's basketball at BSU, while his All-America award makes him the third Beaver to earn All-America status in program history.

The last player at BSU to earn All-America recognition was Charles Hanks in 2003-04 and before that was Arne Johnson in 1940-1941.

Ellisor is the first Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference men's basketball player to earn the National Player of the Year award from any publication since Winona State University's John Smith in 2007-08.

The Glendale, Ariz. native is the third player from the NSIC to earn the Player of the Year award, as Smith was named to the honor in 2006-07 and 2007-08 and Brett Beeson of MSU Moorhead was the 1995-96 Division II Player of the Year.