Weather Forecast


Funding for government lapses as short-term spending bill stalls in the Senate

Creativity leads to success for Bemidji High School ski teams

The Bemidji Nordic ski teams spent the better part of the winter scanning northern Minnesota for any available snow.

The lack of snow in the Bemidji area forced team officials to modify their practice routines but, despite those problems, the boys and girls teams experienced successful campaigns.

"We had to be creative and positive because we were working with little or no snow throughout the season," said BHS coach Mark Walters at last week's season-ending dinner

The majority of the schedule was spent at Mount Itasca and Maplelag where man-made snow afforded competitive opportunities.

Tony and Kyle Sagedahl made the most of their opportunities as they qualified for the state meet, Tony for the third time and Kyle for his first time.

Team awards and the winners included:

Most Improved: Morgan Sagedahl, Linda Luethy, Lauren Weaver (girls); Kyle Sagedahl, Sam Dwyer, Jacob Schmidt (boys);

Spirit Award: Weaver (girls); Nick Conner (boys);

Desire, Drive, Dedication, Determination Award: Billy Freholtz;

MVP: Morgan Sagedahl (girls); Tony Sagedahl (boys);

2012-13 captains: Emma Brokl, Summer Johnson (girls); Tony Sagedahl, Kyle Sagedahl (boys);

Earning letters this year were:


Seniors: Stine Haave, Kim Truedson, Mikayla Connell, Kayla Olson;

Junior: Emma Brokl;

Sophomores: Summer Johnson, Maari Stocker, California Thorson;

Freshman: Jenna Truedson;

Eighth grade: Morgan Sagedahl.


Adam Holter, Ei Rassler, Sam Dwyer, Tanner Asper, Nick Conner, Matt Chatterton, Zach Hewitt;

Juniors: Tony Sagedahl, Nate Molnar;

Sophomore: Kyle Sagedahl, Jordan Wednchuk;

Freshman: Josh Claussen.