Weather Forecast


Bemidji State golf: Hill receives Ed Sauer Memorial Scholarship

Joe Aitken, right congratulates Casey Hill of Virginia as the 2011 recipient of the Ed Sauer Memorial scholarship for men's golf at Bemidji State. Submitted?Photo

Benmidji State senior golfer Casey Hill was recently awarded the Ed Sauer Memorial Scholarship.

Hill, a senior on the BSU men's golf team, posted four tournament rounds under par this fall and had a total scoring average of 74.6, which ranked third in the Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC).

The scholarship is funded by the Ed Sauer Memorial Men's Golf Scholarship Tournament. It started in 2008 in Sauer's memory. The former BSU golfer lost his battle with cancer in 2007.

The tournament has raised on average approximately $9,000 per year for the BSU Foundation in Sauer's name. In addition to the endowed fund, an Ed Sauer Annual Scholarship Fund has been established from the tournament's proceeds. Hill is the third recipient of a scholarship from that fund.

Former Bemidji State golfers Ray Sauer and Jeff Wallin are the co-chairmen of the tournament.

The Ed Sauer Annual Memorial tournament is held each year at Tianna Country Club in Walker on the Saturday preceding the fourth Sunday of August.

The 2011 tournament had the largest field to date with 19 teams participating.