Weather Forecast


Bemidji Speedway crowns season points champions

The final races of the regular season at Bemidji Speedway were held Sunday night with season points champions crowned in all classes. A fine field of more than 60 cars, drivers and crews were on hand to help decide the champs on a near-perfect racing night.

The final event of the 2011 racing season will be the annual Paul Bunyan Stampede which will be held on Oct. 1-2 with all classes running including the A-Modifieds coming back for a second time this summer. Racing will begin at 5 p.m. on Saturday and 2 p.m. on Sunday.

The two point leaders in the pure stock chase, Joel Harvey with 566 and Bill Chaboyea with 559, came onto the track to decide who would be the track champion in 2011.

Harvey started in the front row with Chaboyea in row four and when the race ended Harvey claimed the victory and Bill Beaulieu was second. Chaboyea finished well back after experiencing a spin and being sent to the back of the pack for the restart.

Point leader Billy Smith lined up on the pole for the start of the minis. Smith pulled into the lead at the start and never looked back, capping his season with the track championship.

The Midwest Modified feature was one of the most caution-filled features of the year. The race began with mass confusion on the back straight. Several more cautions flew during the early part of the race sending many racers from deep in the pack tailback or to the pits.

Shane Sabraski, back for the second week in a row, was making headway on the leaders from his fifth-row starting position. Following a third caution he was in the top five and looking ahead. A spin slowed the race once again and on the restart a major crash on the front straight sent several cars to the pits for repairs. When the green flag once again waved it was Sabraski on the high side racing into the lead.

Cautions slowed the pace three more times but Sabraski was able to maintain the lead throughout and claim the win. Skyler Smith had enough points to hold onto the season points lead and claim the track championship.

In what would be a much cleaner-run event, the Super Stock feature was a battle to the finish line between Gary Nelson Jr. and Shane Sabraski with Nelson Jr. winning. The season points champion in the super stock class was Tyler Kintner.

The final feature of the night was won by Blake Higginbotham, his first-ever feature win. Conrad Schwinn captured second place and finished the year as the points champion.

Speedway Results

Pure Stock Feature - Joel Harvey, Bill Beaulieu, Keith Koski, Frank Chambernick, Chad Puschinsky, Cory Peterson, Bill Chaboyea, Wade Schmidt, Jerry Ramey, Adam Kessler

Heat 1 - B. Chaboyea, J. Ramey, C. Puschinsky, J. Harvey, B. Smith

Heat 2 - F. Chambernick, C. Peterson, B. Beaulieu, K. Koski, W. Schmidt

Mini Stock Feature - Billy Smith, Zach Peterson, Becky Barrett, Ev Barrett, Andy Swartz, Rick Watson, John Aderman, Andy Hanson

Heat 1 - A. Swartz, R. Watson, Z. Peterson, B. Smith, E. Barrett

Wissota Midwest Modifieds Feature - Shane Sabraski Brett Schmidt, Don Smith, John Halvorson, Adam Johnson, Brandon Bahr, Matt Schow, Jacob Wilde, Matt Bartz, Don Mullen

Heat 1 - D. Smith, D. Mullen, J. Wilde, R. Reed, M. Bartz

Heat 2 - B. Schmidt, J. Halvorson, B. Bahr, R. Schow, R. Oppegard

Heat 3 - S. Sabraski, A. Johnson, S. Smith, M. Schow, B. Masters

Wissota Super Stocks Feature - Gary Nelson Jr, Shane Sabraski, Tyler Kintner, Dale Lindell, Brett Schmidt, Dalton Carlson, Tal Lucken, Matt Sparby, Keith Keena

Heat 1 - S. Sabraski, B. Schmidt, T. Kintner, G. Nelson Jr, D. Lindell

Wissota Mod Four Feature - Blake Higginbotham, Conrad Schwinn, Tom Kellen, Nathan Higginbotham, Brandon Kellen, Greg Thell, Tyler Larson, Fran Hauber, Tom Sabraski, John Greshwill.

Heat 1 - N. Higginbotham, T. Larson, B. Higginbotham, T. Kellen, T. Sabraski

Heat 2 - F. Hauber, C. Schwinn, G. Thell, T. Stranger, J. Greshwill

Hornet Feature - Joe Doti, Don Kolkin, Jason Bush