Weather Forecast


Track News

Bulldogs end impressive season at Park Rapids

The 2011 season ended for the Northome/Kelliher/Blackduck Bulldogs at the Section 8A Track and Field Meet hosted by Park Rapids June 4.

Both squads were looking for big finishes at the meet. Unfortunately, no one qualified for the state track meet this year, but the young team did end the season with lots of promise for next year.

Placing at the meet for the girls was sophomore Carrie Carrigan in the shot put. Carrigan made finals and threw well enough to reach the podium at a seventh place finish with her 31' 6.5" effort.

Also placing for the girls was the 4x800 relay team of senior Roxie Kallroos, freshman Kristi Mills, eighth grader Jeanette Frenzel and seventh grader Megan Hudec. The team combined for eighth place. As a team, the girls scored three points for 21st place.

The boys had three relay teams place at the meet. The 4x800 team of junior Butch Strand, eighth grader Kyle Michalek, sophomores Brandon Schmid and Caleb Schneider missed medals by 1.5 seconds finishing seventh.

The 4x200 team of senior Zeke Burtard and sophomores Matthew Jedlicka, Keith Shaughnessy and Travis Olafson finished eighth as did the 4x400 relay team of Strand, Shaughnessy, freshman Mark Geerdes and Schneider.

In the 1600, senior Charles Biberg reached the podium at a seventh place finish with his personal best time of 4:56.79. The team garnered sixth points which put them in a tie for 20th place with Fertile-Beltrami.

Zeke Burtard also finished with his career best long jump just missing the team record. Burtard's 18' 8" jump was just short of Paul Nistler's 18' 8.5" jump from 2008. For the season, both the boys and girls set several Bulldog individual and relay team records this year.

For the girls, Kristi Mills set the 400 m record at 65.1 seconds. Senior Tonya Weidenborner set the team record in the 60 m dash with a 9.37 second run.

Eighth grader Rebecca Waskul set the Blackduck record in the 60 m dash with 10.38 seconds.

The boys set four records this year. Travis Olafson set or was part of all four records. Olafson set the record for the 60 m dash and the 60 m hurdles. He had 7.91 seconds in the dash and 11.35 seconds in the hurdles.

The other two records were the sprinting relays. The 4x100 team of Matthew Jedlicka, sophomore Brandon Schmid, Zeke Burtard and Travis Olafson sprinted to a 49.11. The 4x200 team of Jedlicka, Shaughnessy, Burtard and Olafson sprinted to 1:34.6.

The Bulldogs teams ended the year winning four meets this year. The boys won three meets including the Northome Invitational, the Deerwood Bank Invitational and the Deer River Relay Warm Up. The girls team won the Northome Invitational.

"With so many great athletes and efforts this year, the end of the year awards were both easy and difficult to give out," said coach Jim Schneider.

Lettering for the girls were seniors Cathy Frenzel, Roxie Kallroos, Kate Olafson and Tonya Weidenborner; sophomores Justine Frenzel and Carrie Carrigan; freshman Kristi Mills, Tanyssa Olafson and Maile Olson; eighth graders Jeanette Frenzel and Kelsie Murray; seventh graders Rachel Fahey, Megan Hudec and Shadow Lievsay.

Lettering for the boys were seniors Charles Biberg, James Campbell-Eckdahl, Cody Graupmann and Joseph Nehl; juniors Tyler Hughes, Scott Pierson and Butch Strand; sophomores Tyler Dobmeier, Matthew Jedlicka, Tim Jourdan, Travis Olafson, Brandon Schmid, Caleb Schneider, Keith Shaughnessy and Cyril Weidenborner; freshmen Mark Geerdes and Isaiah Rahier; eighth graders Kyle Michalek, Eli Rahier and Cody Rankin and seventh grader Matthew Jourdan. Not lettering this year but stlll contributing to the teams were Chris Howard, Arthur Wirkus, Joey Hartman, Rebecca Waskul, Brigette Williams and Michaela Williams.

The team awards are chosen by the coaches and were very difficut to assign this year. The awards for 2011 were presented as follows:

• Most Valuable Field Events: Cody Graupmann and Carrie Carrigan

• Most Valuable Sprinter: Travis Olafson and Cathy Frenzel

• Most Valuable MId-distance Caleb Schneider and Kristi MIlls

• Most Valuable Distance Charles BIberg and Megan Hudec

• Rookie of the Year: Mark Geerdes and Maile Olson

• Most Improved: Butch Strand and Rachel Fahey

• Most Valuable All Around Keith Shaughnessy and Jeanette Frenzel