Weather Forecast


Fans enjoy perfect weather

What a difference a week can make in northern Minnesota. In stark contrast to last week's horrible racing conditions Sunday evening at Bemidji Speedway fans and racers alike enjoyed excellent racing conditions with a much improved racing surface.

Next Sunday the speedway is hosting its annual DARE night. Young race fans will meet area DARE officers and will be allowed on the track during intermission to meet their favorite drivers.

Tyler Kintner took his pole position start to the front and never looked back in clinching his first feature of the year. Several cars had mechanical issues late in the race and dropped out moving Keith Keena into second place with Brett Schmidt, Gary Nelson Jr, and Dalton Carlson making up the top five.

John Halvorson and Skyler Smith led a fine field of Midwest Modifieds on track for their feature with Smith charging on the high side into the lead.

The race ended with Smith taking the feature, his first of the season with Larson, Erickson, Halvorson and Adam Johnson trailing.

Conrad Schwinn slid sideways in front of the grandstand late in the feature and that opened the way for Branden Kellen to win and Tom Sabraski to finish second. Schwinn held onto third and completing the top five were Mike Margl and Tonja Stranger.

Bill Chaboyea made it two in a row in the Pure Stock class taking his pole position start to outlast challenger Bill Beaulieu early in the race. Joel Harvey raced hard and took second dropping Beaulieu to third with Wade Schmidt and Cory Peterson in the top five.

In a wild and crazy race Billy Smith had to battle back from a wild ride over the top of turn two to come back from tailback to challenge race leader Zach Peterson for the lead. Smith grabbed the lead and rolled into the winner's circle. Peterson, Becky Barrett, Rick Watson, and Ev Barrett held the top five positions.

Jordan Thayer took the lead and never gave it up to take the Hornet feature with JR Doti on his bumper in second, Jason Bush third and Andy Hanson fourth.

Bemidji Speedway Results

Wissota Super Stock Feature - Tyler Kintner, Keith Keena, Brett Schmidt, Gary Nelson Jr., Dalton Carlson, Matt Sparby

Heat 1 - B. Schmidt, M. Sparby, T. Kintner, G. Nelson Jr., D. Carlson

Wissota Midwest Modified Feature - Skyler Smith, Craig Larson, Doyle Erickson, John Halvorson, Adam Johnson, Don Mullen, Cody Drennen, Alex Johnson, Matt Schow, Ron Reed

Heat 1 - D. Lawler, A. Johnson, B. Bahr, D. Mullen, R. Reed

Heat 2 - M. Schow, S. Smith, J. Halvorson, C. Larson, D. Erickson

Wissota Mod Four Feature - Branden Kellen, Tom Sabraski, Conrad Schwinn, Mike Margl, Tonja Stranger, Tom Kellen, Nathan Higginbotham, Leahna Barrett, Fran Hauber, Blake Higginbotham

Heat 1 - C. Schwinn, T. Sabraski, M. Margl, T. Kellen, L. Barrett

Heat 2 - B. Kellen, T. Stranger, F. Hauber, N. Higginbotham, B. Higginbotham

Bemidji Pures Feature - Bill Chaboyea, Joel Harvey, Bill Beaulieu, Wade Schmidt, Cory Peterson, Troy Hemphill, Chad Puschinsky, Jesse Lutgen, Mike Johnson

Heat 1 - B. Beaulieu, W. Schmidt, B. Chaboyea, J. Harvey, C. Puschinsky

Bemidji Mini Feature - Billy Smith, Zach Peterson, Becky Barrett, Rick Watson, Ev Barrett, John Adderman, Andy Swartz

Heat 1 - B. Smith, A. Swartz, R. Watson, Z. Peterson, B. Barrett.

Bemidji Hornets Feature - Jordan Thayer, JR Doti, Jason Bush, Andy Hanson