Weather Forecast


Drewes, Holter named BHS ski team MVPs

Bailey Drewes and Adam Holter were honored as the Most Valuable Athletes on the Bemidji Nordic girls and boys ski teams.

The honors were announced at Tuesday's team dinner at the BSU Hobson Union.

Drewes and Trent Buckanaga also received special recognition as All-State Academic skiers.

Tony Sagedahl received a certificate signifying his participation at the state meet as did Holter and Drewes.

Singled out as being among the team's most improved skiers were Morgan Sagedahl, Summer Johnson, Mikayla Connell, Sara Heisler, John Buckanaga, Trent Buckanaga, Jordan Sweep and Nicholas Connor.

The team dedication award went to Ariel Tix while Sweep and Kayla Olson received the team spirit awards.

Kim Truedson and Connell were named next year's girls captains while Holter and Tanner Asper will hold those roles on the boys squad.

Earning letters for the 2010-11 BHS girls ski team were:

Bailey Drewes, Laura Yourd, Alicia Papke-Larson, Bethany Scholl, Sara Heisler, Mari Eggebo, Kim Truedson, Emma Brokl, California Thorson and Summer Johnson.

Earning letters for the 2010-11 BHS boys ski team were:

Andy Berube, John Buckanaga, Trent Buckanaga, Adam Holter, Tanner Asper, Devin Danielson, Sam Dwyer, Eli Rassler, Kyle Sagedahl and Tony Sagedahl.

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200