Weather Forecast


Hockey Day is coming to Bemidji; 13th annual event set for winter 2019

Bemidji wrestlers claim three titles at Rick Lee Invite

Wrestling at 112 pounds, Bemidji's Brian Maas earns a decision over his second-round opponent from Nashwauk-Keewatin at the Rick Lee Tournament Saturday. Pioneer Photo/Monte Draper

The Bemidji wrestling team recorded three champions and two runners-up on way to fifth place at Saturday's Rick Lee Invitational in Bemidji.

Logan Crosby won the title at 119 as did Kade Johnson at 145 and Brenden Fredrickson at 171.

In the team competition, BGMR took the title with 207 points while Aitken had 195, Perham 174.5, Royalton 152 and Bemidji 148.5.

Trailing the pack were Nashwauk with 91, BCLBI with 90 and Roseau with 76.

"Any time you advance five kids to the finals and get three champions it's a good day," said BHS coach Rance Bahr. "I think we would have had another wrestler in the finals if Craig Maas didn't hurt his shoulder in his first match and have to withdraw at 130.

"There were some weights that I thought we might have fared better at but there were some weights that we probably overachieved," Bahr said. "Overall, it was a very productive weekend."

Logan Crosbly went 3-0 on way to his championship and defeated Brandon Wagge of BGMR 7-0 in the title match. At 145 Johnson stopped Jordan Chouanard with a third-period pin to claim the crown and Fredrickson duplicated that feat on way to the 171-pound title.

Brian Maas pinned his first two opponents but lost a 15-7 decision in the title match. Jake Crosby had a bye in the opening round and advanced to the title match with a 15-1 decision. The senior lost to Luke Sailer of Perham 2-1 in the title match.

Alex Johnson captured third at heavyweight. He won his first match with a pin and, after losing in the semifinals, came back to win a pair, both by falls.

At 140 Colton Doty placed fifth while finishing sixth were Tyler O'Bierne at 103, Dustin Greenman at 152 and Nick Maggert at 189.

Competing but not placing were Cody Thoring at 135 and Tyler Molitor at 160.

In the junior varsity competition Bemidji recorded four first place finishes and a pair of seconds.

Going unbeaten and claiming titles were Michael Fogarty at 112, Ryle Masterson at 125, Dylan Hardy at 130 and Keefer Bender at heavyweight.

Gary Molash went 2-1 and finished second at 125 as did Robert Treuer at 119.

Alex O'Neil claimed third with a 1-2 record at 125 while Isaiah Moore was 0-1 at 135 and Nickeem Lawrence 0-3 at 103.

Rick Lee Invitational

Team scores

BGMR 207, Aitken 195, Perham 174.5, Royalton 152, Bemidji 148.5, Nashwauk-K-G 91, BCLBI 90, Roseau 76

Individual Results

103-Championship: Harlo (Per) dec. Bergeron (BGMR) 7-2. Bemidji's results: O'Bierne (B) dec. Kroll (Roy) 10-6; Bergeron (BGMR) pin O'Beirne 0:54; Fernezel (BCLBI) dec. O'Bierne 2-0; Braton pin O'Beirne 0:54 (O'Beirne places sixth)

112-Championship: Novacek (BGMR) dec. B.Maas (B) 15-7. Bemijdi's results: B.Maas (B) pin Moulzolf (Roy) 3:51; B.Maas tech. fall over Bruss (NKG) 20-5; Novacek (BGMR) dec. Maas 15-7 (B.Maas places second)

119-Championship: L.Crosby (B) dec. Waage (BGMR) 7-0. Bemidji's results: L.Crosby (B) pin Sikorski (Ros) 0:52; L.Crosby dec. Lueders (Per) 3-1; L.Crosby dec. Waage 7-0 (L.Crosby wins title)

125-Championship: Sailer (Per) dec. J.Crosby (B) 2-1. Bemidji's results: J.Crosby (B) received bye; J.Crosby major dec. Eastman (Ros) 15-1; Sailer dec. J.Crosby 2-1 (J.Crosby places second)

130-Championship: Wold (Ait) tech fall Staples (BCLBI) 19-4. Bemidji's results: Josh Werner (Per) dec. C.Maas 11-9; Ludwick (Ros) def. C.Maas by default (C.Maas did not finish)

135-Championship: Moulzoff (Roy) dec. Haverland (Per) 10-6 Bemidji's results: Moulzoff (Roy) pin Thoring 3:41; Nehl (BCLBI) dec. Thoring 9-4 (Thoring did not place)

140-Championship: Lange (Roy) dec. Gullickson (BGMR) 7-4. Bemidji's results: Doty (B) pin Dahl (Ros) 0:44; Gullickson (BGMR) dec. Doty 11-8; Holmbeck (NKG) dec. Doty 6-3; Doty pin Sazama (Per) 2:15. (Doty places fifth)

145-Championship: Johnson (B) pin Chouanard (Ait) 5:27. Bemidji's results: Johnson (B) pin Mischeski (Per) 1:06; Johnson (B) dec. Wentland (Roy); Johnson pin Chouanard (Ait) 5:27 7-5 (Johnson wins championship)

152-Championship Stevens (Ait) dec. Ingle 9BGMR) 8-4. Bemidji's results: Stevens (Ait) pin Greenman 2:31; Gross (BCLBI) dec. Greenman 5-3; Schleeter (Per) dec. Greenman 5-3. (Greenman places sixth)

160-Championship Wojochowski (BGMR) dec. Handt (Ait) 11-0. Bemidji's results: Crabtree (Ros) dec. Molitor (B) 5-4; LeLonek (NKG) dec. Molitor 5-4 (Molitor did not place)

171-Championship: Fredricksen (B) pin Schlitching (Roy) 5:28. Bemidji's results: Fredricksen (B) dec. Jordahl (Per) 3-1 OT; Fredricksen (B) pin Schlichting (Roy) 5:28 (Fredrickson wins title)

189-Championship: Evans (BRM) dec. Bast (Ait) 13-4. Bemidji's results: Maggart (B) pin Gadacz (Roy) 1:13; Evans (BGMR) pin Maggart 2:35; Brouder (BCLBI) pin Maggart 2:44; Buley(Ros) pin Maggart 2:35 (Maggart places sixth)

215-Championship: Nylander (Per) dec. Plumski (Roy) 4-3. Bemidji's results: Bemidji did not enter

Hwt: Championship: Hein (Per) dec. Yeager (BGMR) 14-3. Bemidji's results: Johnson (B) pin Karl (Ros) 4:21; Hein (Per) dec. Johnson 8-0; Johnson pin Franks (Roy); Johnson pin Karl (Ros) 3:22 (Johnson places third)

Pat Miller

Pat Miller is the sports editor at the Pioneer.

(218) 333-9200