Weather Forecast


Moorhead, Win-E-Mac, Wadena-DC make state volleyball tournament

Moorhead, Wadena-Deer Creek and Win-E-Mac gained berths in the state volleyball tournament this weekend while Nevis came up one match short of returning.

Moorhead is back for the first time since 2006 but remains a veteran of the big meet.

It will mark the 19th journey for the Spuds who dominated Section 8-3A for two decades under Karen Schumacher in the 80's and 90's winning the 1988 state title and bowing five times in the final.

Moorhead stopped SMA 13-25, 25-23, 25-15, 25-21 in Friday's final. SMA had ousted Bemidji one round earlier while Moor head sidelined Monticello.

Wadena won its third straight 8-2A crown and fifth overall with a decisive 25-13, 25-10, 25-13 final victory over DGF. The Wolverines had reached the final with a 3-0 win over Fergus Falls while DGF did likewise over Thief River.

Win-E-Mac snapped the two year reign of Baudette's Lake of the Woods in the 8A final with an equally impressive 25-12, 25-19, 25-12 decision.

In three section starts the Patriots won nine of 10 sets. Like Moorhead, the Pats are no strangers to the state, making their 10th trip but first since 1999.

Most of the previous nine came under Mike Roysland who led the team to the 1988 title and finished second five times from 1986-99.

They seldom lost so much as a set this fall, their lone loss to DGF 2-1 at the Moorhead Invitational.

Moorhead will open state play against Waconia. Wadena begins with Delano and WEM with Minneota.

Nevis saw its hopes of repeating as 5A titlist die in Saturday's final to Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa 25-22, 26-28, 27-25, 26-24.

BBE's Bemidji connection comes with Brooten the home town of long-time baseball coach Des Sagedahl.

Wadena and Nevis took the consolation titles at last year's meet. LOW finished fourth while Alexandria, the 8-3A winner, lost both starts.

Other Class A openers pit BBE against Mayer Lutheran and 6A winner Ada against Martin County. Ada and WEM could clash in the semifinals if both win. The Pats won their regular season meeting 3-0, one of 23 shutout decisions this year.