Weather Forecast


Nelsons, kids among winners at Speedway

Gary James Nelson (No. 74) shoots inside to pass Adam Johnson during Sunday's Midwest Modified race at Bemidji Speedway. Pioneer Photo/Dennis Peterson

Hot and humid conditions didn't slow the racing action and the racing on the track wasn't limited to the stock cars Sunday night at Bemidji Speedway.

It could have been called "The Nelson Racing Teams" night at the track with both Gary James Nelson winning the Midwest Modified class and Gary Nelson Jr. claiming a clean sweep in the Super Stock class. They were joined on track by excited kids during intermission for special box car races with all the kids picking up awards.

Track promoter Mel Hayes has announced that the 2010 Bemidji Speedway Hall of Fame inductees will be announced and honored next Sunday. It will also be All School Reunion night at the speedway.

Pure Stock

Bill Chaboyea took the lead and held off a hard charging Corey Peterson to win his sixth feature of the summer and maintain his point lead. Keith Koski, Wade Schmidt and Chad Puschinsky trailed the leaders.

Mini Stock

In the mini stocks Billy Smith made a triumphant return after sitting out a good portion of the summer. He held of Tim LaVoi, Leahna Barrett, Andy Swartz, and Neil Fleming to claim the win.

Midwest Modified

Gary James Nelson Nelson overcame a series of caution flags and took the checkered flag over Rick Jacobson, Danny Vang, Doug VanMill, and Jason Davis.

Mod Four

The Mod four race also featured some caution flags but in the Darrin Lawler was first, Brady Lavoi second, Conrad Schwin third, Chad Fundt fourth and Brandon Kellen fifth.

Super Stocks

Gary Nelson Jr. led the race after a lap racing and survived several cautions to claim the victory. Trailing Nelson were Jerry Davis, Dalton Carlson, Keith Keena and Matt Sparby.


The final race of the night found the Hornets on track led by Andy Hanson on the pole with Josh Seely-Sautbine to his right. Seely-Suatbine took the lead and stayed there to win his third feature of the summer. Don Kolkin, Joe Doti, John Aderman and Hanson trailed.

Wissota Midwest Modifieds

Feature - Gary James Nelson, Rick Jacobson, Danny Vang, Doug VanMill, Jason Davis, Nichole Davis

Ron Read, Bret Schmidt, Adam Johnson, Matt Fullerton

Heat 1 - B. Schmidt, R. Jacobson, C. Dudley, S. Smith, J. Shulke

Heat 2 - A. Johnson, G. James Nelson, D. VanMill, D. Vang, M. Fullerton

Wissota Mod Fours

Feature - Darrin Lawler, Brady LaVoi, Conrad Schwin, Chad Fundt, Brandon Kellen, Tommy McGough, Fran Hauber, Corry VanMil, Kevin Bahr, Tommy Sabraski

Heat 1 - B. Kellen, B. LaVoi, F. Hauber, D. Lawler, K. Bahr

Heat 2 - C. Schwin, T. McGough, C. Fundt, M. Margl, T. Sabraski

Wissota Super Stocks

Feature - Gary Nelson Jr, Jerry Davis, Dalton Carlson, Keith Keena, Matt Sparby

Heat 1 - G. Nelson Jr, D. Carlson, J. Davis, M. Sparby, K. Keena

Pure Stocks

Feature - Bill Chaboyea, Corey Peterson, Keith Koski, Wade Schmidt, Chad Puschinsky, Mark Glynn, Sadie Niemela, Bill Beaulieu, Mike Johnson, Joel Harvey

Heat 1 - J. Harvey, C. Puschinsky, K. Koski, W. Schmidt, M. Johnson

Heat 2 - B. Chaboyea, C. Peterson, D. Scholler, B. Beaulieu, S. Niemela

Mini Stocks

Feature - Billy Smith, Tim LaVoi, Leahna Barrett, Andy Swartz, Neil Fleming, Becky Barrett, John Aderman, Billy Foster

Heat 1 - T. LaVoi, B. Smith, L. Barrett, N. Fleming, B. Foster


Feature - Josh Seely-Sautbine, Don Kolkin, Joe Doti, John Aderman, Andy Hanson

Heat 1 - J. Seely-Sautbine, D. Kolkin, A. Hanson, J. Doti, J. Aderman