Weather Forecast


Three drivers win for first time at Bemidji Speedway

Mike Margl's Wissota Mod Four was damaged Sunday night after a collision with Brandon Kellen's No. 62 car on the front straight at Bemidji Speedway. Margl can be seen exiting the car unhurt. Pioneer Photo/Dennis Peterson

Bemidji Speedway hosted Boys and Girls club members from the area Sunday for a night of racing action.

Three first-time winners entered Victory Lane, while one has won four times and the other two have won twice.

The Wissota Streets return to the lineup Sunday with a 5 p.m. starting time.

The track announced that the Fourth of July race will feature a Wissota Mod Four and Mini Stock special, with the Mod Fours racing for a $300 first prize and the Minis for $175.

Corry VanMil won a wild Amsoil Wissota Mod Four feature, with Kevin Bahr second, Conrad Schwin third, Brandon Bahr fourth and Tommy McGough fifth. The real excitement came early when Mike Margl and Brandon Kellen got tangled up on the front straight, with Margl's car sliding up on the front retaining wall and then flipping hard on its side. Heavy damage to both cars resulted, putting Margl out of the race but unhurt. Kellen made a pit stop and returned to the race.

Tim Barrett took the lead on lap one and never looked back in claiming his second Mini Stocks feature. Leahna Barrett, Sherman Rogalski Sr., Neil Fleming and Sherman Rogalski Jr, made up the top five finishers.

The front wheel drive mini stock Hornets were next on track with first time winner Joe Doti battling hard from his second row inside start to take the lead over Mike Reynolds late in the race. Reynolds was second with Cody Buchanan, Don Kolkin and John Aderman finishing in the top five.

Corey Peterson claimed his second win of the season in Pure Stocks, followed by Bill Chadoyea, Don Scholler, Wade Schmidt and Sadie Niemela.

Gary James Nelson led a fine field of Amsoil Wissota Midwest Modifieds down the front straight and picked up his first win of the season, followed by Davey Mills, Adam Johnson, Ricky Jacobson and Matt Schow.

Dave Read held on to win his first Wissota Super Stock feature, followed by Gordie Lancaster, Dalton Carlson, Tal Lucken and Jerry Davis.

Wissota Mod Fours

Feature - Corry VanMil, Kevin Bahr, Conrad Schwin, Brandon Bahr, Tommy McGouch, Fran Hauber, Darrin Lawler, Brandon Kellen, Mike Margl

Heat 1 - C. Schwin, C. VanMil, B. Kellen, M. Margl, K. Bahr

Mini Stocks

Feature - Tim Barrett, Leahna Barrett, Sherman Rogalski Sr, Neil Fleming, Sherman Rogalski Jr, Rick Fradet

Heat 1 - T. Barrett, S. Rogalski, N. Fleming, R. Fradet, Leahna Barrett


Feature - Joe Doti, Mike Reynolds, Cody Buchanan, Don Kolkin, John Aderman, Jordan Thayer, Andy Hanson, Jason Bush

Heat 1 - D. Kolkin, J. Doti, M. Reynolds, J. Aderman, C. Buchanan

Pure Stocks

Feature - Corey Peterson, Bill Chaboyea, Don Scholler, Wade Schmidt, Sadie Niemela, Keith Koski, Mark Glynn, Frank Chamernick, Mike Johnson, Chad Puschinsky

Heat 1 - D. Scholler, S. Niemela, B. Chaboyea, W. Schmidt, K. Koski

Heat 2 - C. Peterson, M. Glynn, C. Puschinsky, M. Johnson, F. Chamernick

Wissota Midwest Modifieds

Feature - Gary James Nelson, Davey Mills, Adam Johnson, Rick Jacobson, Matt Schow, Skyler Smith, Doug VanMill, Chris Dudley, Don Platow, Mike Bader

Heat 1 - G. James Nelson, A. Johnson, M. Schow, M. Bader, D. VanMill

Heat 2 - R. Jacobson, D. Mills, T. Carlson, S. Smith, R. Schow

Wissota Super Stocks

Feature - Dave Read, Gordie Lancaster, Dalton Carlson, Tal Lucken, Jerry Davis

Heat 1 - D. Carlson, G. Lancaster, J. Davis, D. Read, T. Lucken