Weather Forecast


Sportsline: 2,000 point club steadily expanding

When the late Lefty Ranweiler of the Willmar Tribune created the 1,000 Point Club in the mid 1950s, it was considered a major achievement in basketball.

There were only a handful that attained that level, mostly from small schools where talented shooters or king sized pivots could begin their varsity careers in their seventh or eighth grade years.

In those years, however, teams played 18 game schedules and all shots counted two points.

Since then, schedules have been expanded to 26 games and the pro basketball three point basket added.

That has resulted in the 1,000 point standard a frequent occurrence.

Its importance has been replaced with the 2,000 Point Club.

That unit now finds 65 girls and 52 boys above that figure.

They are led by Taylor Hill of Minneapolis South with 3,888 in the girls' ranks, one of eight over the 3,000 figure.

Among this group are Sari Noga of Parkers Prairie, Megan Taylor of Roseau, Janet Karvonen of New York Mills and Kierah Kimbrough of BGMR

The boys have five over 3,000 topped by Kevin Noreen of the Minneapolis Transitions who hit 4,086 this winter to top all state scorers. Joel McDonald of Chisholm is fourth with 3,292.

Seven others top 2,500 including newcomer Dyami Starks of Duluth East who finished his career this winter with 2,526 and Cass Lake-Bena's Martin Wind with 2,622.

Foley's Norm Grow still leads the old timers, reaching 2,852 in 1958.

Bemidji's Kayla Hirt, with a normal senior season ahead, should go well over 2.500 by the time she ends her career.

Jim Jensen is the top Jacks boy's scorer with 1,763.

Hall of Fame tix

Tickets for the 10th annual Bemidji High Athletic Hall of Fame banquet will go on sale this week.

They may be purchased at the athletic office at the high school for $12.

Five new members will be inducted into the Hall this May 17 including one coach and four athletes.

It will swell the Hall to 65 members.

Also to be honored will be the MVP of each of the 24 high school athletic teams, the male and female athletes of the year plus the Lumberjack Award for a strong supporter of Bemidji sports through the years.

Softball rankings

North St. Paul, Becker and New Ulm Cathedral are the division leaders in the weekly softball poll. Hermantown is second and Rocori 10 in Class 2A with Cherry second and Silver Bay 10 in Class A.

Schissel to Hall

Park Rapids' Bob Schissel will join Bemidji's Jeff Nelson to enter the Minnesota Golf Coaches Association Hall of Fame this spring.

Schissel coached Park Rapids boys from 1985-95 taking three teams to the state meet His teams won eight straight District 29 titles and captured five Mid State Conference crowns.

Diamond dedication

The New Walker High School baseball diamond will be dedicated May 7 with Walker and Nevis playing the first game on the new field at 4:30.

It follows by one year the construction of a new softball field at the school by the same fundraising group.

Pustovar wins again

Hibbing's Paul Pustovar regained the World Senior Men's Curling Championship, defeating Canada 4-3 at Chelyabinsk, Russia.

Pustovar, who captured the inaugural crown in 2002, finished second last year.

The U.S. tied the game with a point in the final end and won with a steal in the first extra end.

Sharon Vukich of Seattle fell to Sweden 6-5 in the bonze medal game in the women's championship. Canada defeated Switzerland for the title.

Baseball feed

The annual Bemidji High baseball spaghetti feed will be held tomorrow from 4-7:30 at the American Legion Club.

All funds raised go to support the Lumberjacks diamond program this spring.

Duluth coaches

Kevin Smalley has been named the 2011 Duluth- Denfeld-Central boys' hockey coach as the city shrinks from three to two high schools next season.

He has guided Denfeld the past six seasons.

Among others retaining their jobs are Mike Randolph (East boys hockey), Jeff Nace (Denfeld boys basketball), Chuck Tolo (East boys basketball), Jim Jubenville (Denfeld girls basketball), Bill Kunze (East girls basketball) and Shawn Davidson (Duluth girls hockey).

The combined Central Denfeld enrollment of 1,528 next year shifts the school into the largest class in all but boys' hockey but will shift in that sport from Section 5A to 7A next winter. The football team moves into 7-5A.

Ms. Basketball

Cassie Rochel of Lakeville North edged out Sari Noga of Parkers Prairie for the Minnesota Ms. Basketball Award.

The 6-4 pivot averaged 16.5 points and 10.5 rebounds this year.

Noga ended with a 21.4 average and 12.2 rebounds, closing her career with 3,576 points and a state record 1,738 rebounds in five seasons.

Noga will play for Minnesota next winter and Rochel for Wisconsin.

Brainerd Hall

Five new members were inducted into the Brainerd High Athletic Hall of Fame this week.

They were Mike Zauhar (2002), a three sport athlete who played collegiate football at St. John's , Andy Pickar (2003) a three sport star who won two state wrestling titles and wrestled for Mankato State, Luke Wellman (1997), a three sport star who played collegiate baseball at UND, Delinda Blanck Rood (1990), a tennis, basketball and golf star who played college tennis at Concordia and Bruce Thompson, who was head coach in four sports and assistant in two others at Brainerd, coaching the mat team to one state title and one runner-up finish in addition to guiding the boys and girls tennis teams and adapted floor hockey. He took 35 wrestlers to the state with12 earning top six finishes.