Weather Forecast


High School Basketball: Returners highlight Northland Conference All-Stars

The 2010 Northland Conference All-Star team bore a strong resemblance to the 2009 unit.

Eight of the 15 players elected returned from the previous team along with two others who moved up from the honorable mention list.

Heading the group was Cass Lake-Bena's Martin Wind who also repeated as the league's MVP.

He was joined by teammates Tyler Trosen and Ben Cameron, Trosen advancing from the honorable mention list.

CLB won the title by one game over Red Lake with Nevis another game behind in third.

Sam Kingbird and Tim Lajeunesse paced the Warriors, both repeaters from 2009. Travis Dow and Kevin Cook were the third and fourth Red Lake selections.

Nolan Toft and Dylan Stenberg were Nevis repeaters with Taylor Chase the third Tiger selected.

The other three back from last year were Charlie Schuh of K-N, Josh Red Day of Blackduck and Jordan Ackerman of Pine River.

Todd Kallroos of Blackduck also moved up from the honorable mention list.

Rounding out the team was Zach Tooker of WHA.

Another 13 players gained honorable mention this year including one each from Cass Lake, Red Lake and Nevis.

Roger White of Red Lake was returned as Coach of the Year.

Chase was Rookie of the Year.

In addition to its league title, the Panthers also won the B Team championship.



CASS LAKE-BENA: Martin Wind *, Tyler Trosen **, Ben Cameron

RED LAKE: Sam Kingbird *, Tim Lajeunesse *, Travis Dow, Kevin Cook

NEVIS: Nolan Toft *, Dylan Stenberg *, Taylor Chase

BLACKDUCK: Josh Red Day *, Todd Kallroos **

WHA- Zach Tooker

PINE RIVER; Jordan Ackerman *


CASS LAKE: Chad Wittner

RED LAKE: Matt Morrison

NEVIS: Mitch Rehkamp

WHA: Gabe Grimley, Adlore Leger

K-N: Alex Gehlert, Jacob Gunderson

LAPORTE: Chase Reimer, Caleb Nelson,

BLACKDUCK: Alex Lossing, Trey Volk

PINE RIVER: Beau Howard, Nathan Holm

* Repeaters from 2009

** Honorable mention, 2009

- - - - -

Coach of the Year: Roger White, Red Lake

MVP: Martin Wind, CLB

Rookie of the Year; Taylor Chase, Nevis

Conference Champs; Cass Lake-Bena 13-1

Conference Runner-up: Red Lake 12-2

B Team champions; Cass Lake-Bena